Scrapbooks containing a diverse array of manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, artwork, clippings, and ephemera primarily related to African-American history from the nineteenth to the mid-twentieth centuries. From Columbia University Libraries.
Collection documents the extraordinary cultural outpouring of celebratory materials from across the continent of Africa. From Northwestern University Library Digital Collections
"Getty and the City of Los Angeles have launched the Los Angeles African American Historic Places Project to identify, protect and celebrate African American heritage within the city."
Images taken by the leading black photographer of New Orleans in the first half of the twentieth century. From Xavier University of Louisiana, available through JSTOR.
"A non-profit member organization established to support African and African American focused museums nationally and internationally, as well as the professionals who protect, preserve and interpret African and African American art, history and culture."
Frick Art Reference Library’s research guide to artists, collectors, and dealers of underrepresented identities in their collections, including those who are Black, Indigenous, Asian, and Hispanic and Latinx.
1940s-2020s. "Gain access to hundreds of digitized primary sources, exploring the history of Black Beauty culture. Objects include rare vintage beauty ads, magazine titles, books, photographs, cosmetics, wigs, beauty tools and more."
A collection of 77 vintage photographs, primarily from the early 20th century formerly owned by Blondie Robinson, an accomplished African-American vaudeville performer of that era. Brown Digital Repository.
"Robert Melvin 'Bob' Adelman (October 30, 1930 – March 19, 2016) was an American photographer known for his images of the African-American Civil Rights Movement." Note: Images are watermarked and must be purchased for use beyond personal research.
First African-American executive at Sears, Roebuck & Co., Harrison was involved in the design of over 750 consumer projects. From University of Illinois, Chicago.
Project to preserve and provide access to a collection of images of national significance that document African American art and culture, community-based art-making, and art-based community making in Los Angeles during the early 1970s. From Cal State via JSTOR.
This resource links out to databases promoting diverse practitioners in their fields. Includes databases such as Cartoonists of Color, Female Experts on Japan & the Koreas, Queer & Trans Therapists of Color Network, and much more.
From the Kennedy Center. Faces of the Harlem Renaissance. Includes biographical information about artists, musicians, actors, and other important figures.
"Photographic record of life in Charlottesville and Albemarle County, Virginia, from before the turn of the century through World War I" from the University of Virginia Library.
"Jackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States." University of Virginia Library site.
Contains 4 photography albums relating directly to the Creole Fiesta Association Events and Parades held from the 1950s-1970s. From Xavier University via JSTOR.
"The Obsidian Collection is a user-friendly, virtual portal for Black culture providing access to images of historical, artistic and cultural significance gathered from Black newspapers, photographers, archives and community groups from around the country. These images are available for licensing and permissions to tell our stories." Note: images are watermarked.
P.H. Polk for more than four decades captured iconic images of life on the Tuskegee University campus as the institution’s official photographer. Available from JSTOR.
Representations of Black diasporic people and cultures through close to a century of illustrations and musical and lyrical compositions found in sheet music publications in the Brown University Library collections. Warning: contains some offensive and racist material.
"World-leading cultural institution devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences." Part of the New York Public Library.
"An archive of over 7,000 photographs representing the contemporary and historic diversity of families in Los Angeles. Images were taken from family albums." From Los Angeles Public Library.
A freely available search hub for digital materials (still and moving images, sound, text) in African American history and culture. Searches materials from a wide variety of cultural institutions across the United States. (NOTE: the Brown University Library is a contributing partner to this project.)
