LibGuides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Find Articles & Books

Find Articles & Books - Interdisciplinary

General:

Search BruKnow
Start here to search for books, articles, films, sound recordings and other resources provided by our library.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Current; scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database, designed for the academic community with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for information on U.S. and international companies and executives. Includes print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers; legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
1790-present; Nexis Uni has more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including:

Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs
Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives
Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

If you are experiencing printing problems from JSTOR while using a Macintosh computer, please download the most recent version of Adobe Reader. http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.
If you need assistance, please contact the CIS Help Desk or eresources@brown.edu.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses and scholarly societies in the humanities and social sciences
Project Muse is a searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. As of 6/2004, includes links to JSTOR.
WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of books and other materials in library catalogs around the world. Best used for advanced search of book records.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of book and ejournal titles digitized from libraries around the world. To login, click the LOGIN BUTTON and select Brown University from the list of institutions.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of book and ejournal titles digitized from libraries around the world. As members of HathiTrust, Brown users get PDF download access to nearly 3 million public domain or permissioned works that were a part of the Google Books digitization projects, or were contributed to the trust by other member institutions.

To login, click the LOGIN BUTTON and select Brown University from the list of institutions. If you have not already authenticated with your Brown username and password, you will then be asked to do so. While you can read articles without logging in, you will NOT be able to download articles.

Latin America and Caribbean:

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other research materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, 1967-present.
1970-present; HAPI is an online source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Included are complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.

SciELO
An open access database covering various countries in Latin America and the Caribbean and providing access to academic journal articles and other resources. There are 16 countries in the SciELO network: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. You may access information by country.
CLASE. Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades - Dirección General de Bibliotecas, UNAM
A bibliographic database developed and maintained by the UNAM in Mexico. It offers about 350 thousand bibliographic records of articles, essays, book reviews, bibliographic reviews, short notes, editorials, biographies, interviews, statistics and other documents published in about 1,500 journals in Latin America and the Caribbean, specializing in social sciences and humanities.
Portal de Portales Latindex (PPL)
PPL provides access to the contents and full text documents of scholarly journals available on digital collections from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal supporters of the Open Access movement. The objective is to disseminate the scientific knowledge published in the Ibero-American region.
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (Redalyc)
An online index of academic articles covering Latin America, Spain and Portugal.

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
An annual bibliography on Latin America from the Library of Congress, 1936-present.
1935-present; An annual bibliography prepared by a group of scholars and published under the auspices of the Library of Congress. It lists new publications under broad subject headings, and includes annotations. [This resource is publicly available.]

Biblioteca Ayacucho
The Biblioteca Ayacucho is an editorial entity of the government of Venezuela, founded on 1974. The Biblioteca Ayacucho now offers free access through CLACSO to around 250 Venezuelan and Latin American books, ranging from recent publications to classics by authors such as Simón Bolívar.

Newspapers

Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 300 fully searchable Latin American newspapers from more than 20 countries, 1805 -1922.
1805-1922; provides 280 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. The Library owns series 1 and series 2 of this resource.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent local, national, and regional news content from Latin America, current.
Current; Latin American Newsstream includes eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin American countries give added coverage and perspective. To round out the coverage, Latin American Newsstream also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808-1980.
1808-1980; created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2018) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text and full image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
This historical newspaper provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1795-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 200 years of the Times, 1795-2019.
1795-2019; researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.8 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text and images from newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the United States.
Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text collection of newspapers from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries
Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included.

Find Articles & Documents - History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to articles, books and dissertations on world history about the 15th century to the-present.
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the-present. Excludes the U. S. and Canada.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, 1954-present
1954-present; article abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to early printed materials, teaching material, and other primary sources devoted to the history of exploration, 1420-1920
Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of digitized British government documents concerning Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean, 1833-1969
1833-1969; this collection consists of the Confidential Print (issued by the British government) for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Pern in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.
Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture: Oliveira Lima Library Pamphlets, Parts 1 and 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of Luso-Brazilian material, mainly from the 19th century
The Oliveira Lima Library is a collection of Luso-Brazillian material with the core of its content derived from the "long" nineteenth century. This collection turns the spotlight on South America's largest and most influential power, covering topics such as: colonialism, missionaries, slave trade and abolition, economic development and agricultural trade, Indigenous Peoples, international relations, and the fight for Brazilian independence.

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera - Princeton University
a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies
Developed cooperatively with scholars worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.

Find Articles - Anthropology

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications
Current plus archive to 2006; AnthroSource is an online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.
Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, papers, and books, in the areas of archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology, 1970-present
1970-present; includes references to journal articles, miscellaneous papers,and books, arranged under sections on archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research from the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research, early 19th century-present
Early 19th century-present; as a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institutes Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database, Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.

Mesoamerican Painted Manuscripts - Tulane Latin American Library
This digital project presents images from the Tulane Latin American Library’s holdings of original and rare copies of Mexican manuscripts painted in the native pictorial tradition. They are painted on a variety of materials such as animal hide, maguey, amate or fig bark paper, linen, and European paper; their content dates to the early contact period (A.D. 1500 to 1700). The texts collected here represent a variety of themes: Aztec history and migrations, land claims and grants, property holdings, census data, fiscal and tribute accounts, and royal Mixtec genealogies.

Find Articles - Politics, Government & Economics

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, 1914-present.
1914-present; includes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, and Internet resources. Subjects include politics, public policy, government, international relations, law and ethics, human rights, economics, business, finance, and other social sciences.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover articles in political science, including public law, and international relations, 1989-present.
1989-present; abstracts information from major journals in political science, including public law, and international relations.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literature on economics compiled by the American Economic Association from more than 300 major economics journals, 1969-present
1969-present; a comprehensive index to the worldwide literature on economics compiled by the American Economic Association from over 300 major economics journals.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete archive of the Economist weekly newsmagazine, 1843-2020
1843-2020; since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has-presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. The Economist-presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. Because of its global editorial perspective, it is read by more of the worlds political and business leaders than any other magazine.
United Nations Digital Library (UNDL) This link opens in a new window
Provides a single access point to U.N. information. The library includes U.N. documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications, current
Current and historical: provides a single access point to UN information. Allows for exploration of documents and publications, voting data, maps, speeches, images and sounds, and more.
Additional collections of digital materials will be added as they are created or are made available by UN departments, offices, and agencies. Covers most UN bodies such as the General Assembly, the International Court of Justice, the Human Rights bodies, and many more. [This resource is publicly available.]

Find Articles & Documents - Gender

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles, and other publication in gender-related scholarship, 1972-present.
1972-present; Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines the Women's Studies International database and Men's Studies databases to provide coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes links to freely available and indexed full text articles and documents on the Web. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth Through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of primary resources from Cuba is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between independence and the end of the Batista regime, 1898-1958.
1898-1958; this collection is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime. In the decades following its independence from Spain in 1898, Cuba adopted the most progressive legislation for women in the western hemisphere. The documents in this collection, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1940-2014; This resource provides material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracking LGBTQ activism and more.
1940-2014; with material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940-present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracking LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

Find Articles - Environmental Science

Environment Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research on environmental studies and related disciplines, including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, public policy, and environmental law, 1888-present.
Current; The Environment Index provides abstract/index information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies. The product has an Environment thesaurus that will assist users in research.