Latin American and Caribbean Studies

CNDL is supported by the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Hardcopy and microfilm only. Brown owns 1966-1990. "Organo oficial del Comité Central del Partido Comunista de Cuba." Formed by the merger of "Revolución" and "Noticias de hoy."

Microfilm. Reproduces the International Institute of Social History collection of periodicals from the formative period of Latin American labor movements and anarchist groups (1890-1920). The Austrian anarchist, historian and collector, Max Nettlau (1865-1944), amassed the most significant segments of the collection.

Filmed copies of almost 600 underground newspapers from around the world. Accompanied by guide entitled "Underground newspaper microfilm collection. Table of contents."

Access the most widely read news story of the week in Mexican newspapers 2002-2016 (some titles go further back). Titles indexed include: La Crónica de hoy, Excélsior, La Jornada, Reforma, El Nacional, El Universal and Milenio. It also indexes the monthly magazines Vuelta, Nexos and Letras Libres.

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

The BDR is a service of the Brown University Library that provides a place to gather, index, store, preserve, and make available digital assets produced via the scholarly, instructional, research, and administrative activities at Brown.

A microfiche collection of pamphlets from Mexico, Peru, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Panama, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, El Salvador, Uruguay, Venezuela, the West Indies, and other Latin American and South American countries. The pamphlets document the agricultural, economic, legal, military, political, religious, and social activities in these countries.

Educating Change: Latina Activism and the Struggle for Educational Equity remembers the victorious struggle for bilingual education and educational equity for Mexican Americans. Parents, teachers, and youth dared to challenge child abuse and educational neglect in their schools. Powerfully illustrated through the lives of three Mexican/Chicana women—Ramona Medina, Socorro Gómez-Potter, and Yolanda Almaraz-Esquivel—Educating Change documents a history of Mexican women’s migration and activism, and considers its relevance for today’s US Latino communities, including Providence.

A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries.

This collection, assembled by Daniel Boone Schirmer, currently numbers 964 titles dealing with the Anti-Imperialist movement of 1898 and its repercussions in United States, Cuban, Puerto Rican, and Filipino history. It deals with the debate within the United States during and after the Spanish-American War over the appropriate relationship between the English-speaking and Spanish speaking Americas.

Contains documents representing a broad spectrum of militant political, social and religious dissent in the United States, from the post-World War II period to the present. The Collection currently exceeding 168,000 items emanating from over 5,000 organizations, constitutes the country's largest research collection of right and left wing U.S. extremist groups, from 1950 to 1999.

This collection of approximately 175 items (pamphlets, books, and serial publications) focuses on Cuba under the regime of Fidel Castro. The pamphlets feature Castro’s speeches, while the books and serial publications document Cuban culture, social and economic conditions, as well as foreign relations policies. The majority of the collection concentrates on the latter half of the twentieth century (1959-1990), though some items address Cuba in the twenty-first century. The collection is comprised of, in large part, translations into English, or otherwise original works in English, published throughout the Anglophone world as well as in various sectors of Cuba’s Foreign Ministry and Cuban political presses.

The foremost American collection of material devoted to the history and iconography of soldiers and soldiering, and is one of the world's largest collections devoted to the study of military and naval uniforms. An excellent resource for the Spanish American War and the Philippine-American War.

A brief list of popular web sites from U.S. federal government agencies.

1945-present; annual reference for studying the U.S. Congress, the Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics.

1789-present; formerly LexisNexis Congressional, these are retrospective collections of the publications of the U. S. Congress, including:
U.S. Congressional Hearings, 1824-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1789-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
U.S. Congressional Record, 1789-1997
U.S. Congressional UnPubished Hearings, Part A and B

The cornerstone of this collection is a two-volume, 400-plus page document consisting of (Volume I) the CIA Inspector General's (IG) Report on the CIA's ill-fated April 1961 attempt to implement national policy by overthrowing the Fidel Castro regime in Cuba by means of a covert paramilitary operation, otherwise known as the Bay of Pigs, and (Volume II), a commentary on the IG report written by the Directorate of Plans (DP), now known as the Directorate of Operations (DO). These two volumes are a rare side-by-side compilation of high-level government self-evaluation of its own performance in an historic and controversial event. The remainder of the collection is comprised of various documents, to include finished intelligence, National Security Council (NSC) briefings and Spanish-language documents. The collection now stands at 769 documents, although more may be added in the future as additional documents are subjected to the ongoing review process.

Microfiche collection.

Microfiche collection.

The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962 presents an integrated, comprehensive record of U.S. decisionmaking during the most dangerous U.S.-Soviet confrontation in the nuclear era.

Microfilm.

Microfilm.

The Nicaragua document collection provides a contemporary record of the diplomatic, political, paramilitary and economic developments which turned the small Central American nation of Nicaragua into the most controversial U.S. foreign policy issue of the 1980s. The collection consists of 3,248 cataloged primary source documents totaling approximately 17,500 pages. T

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Founded in 1962 by Cesar Chavez, the United Farm Workers of America is the nation's first successful and largest farm workers union currently active in 10 states. The UFW continues to organize in major agricultural industries across the nation. Has a film and photo archive.