LibGuides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Public Health

Find Articles and Data

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the largest biomedical database in the world. The Ovid interface offers more advanced searching functionality than PubMed, and is often used in comprehensive literature review projects.
PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the freely available interface for MEDLINE, the largest biomedical literature database in the world. PubMed offers millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, full text from PubMed Central, and online books, from the 1800s-present. Use the Brown University link to access full text subscriptions through the University library.

Pan-American Health Organization - PAHO
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System and as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization.
WHO - World Health Organization
You may browse by country, access online publications and reports, and retrieve statistical information on various health issues around the globe.
LILACS - Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences
A bibliographic index of literature on health sciences, published in the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982. It is a cooperative product of the VHL Network.
Virtual Health Library (BIREME-PAHO-WHO)
The VHL provides research portals for evidence-based practice, health technology, and more, as well as specialized resources in disaster medicine, environmental health, and more. The Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences, also known by its original name Regional Library of Medicine (BIREME, acronym in Portuguese), is a specialized center of the Pan American Health Organization World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO) oriented to technical cooperation in scientific health information. The headquarters of BIREME is located in Brazil, in the central campus of the Universidade Federal de São Paulo (UNIFESP) since its creation in 1967, according to agreement between PAHO and the Government of Brazil.
UNAIDS
Reports and data by country, as well as other online publications.
SciELO
An open access database covering various countries in Latin America and the Caribbean and providing access to academic journal articles and other resources. There are 16 countries in the SciELO network: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. You may access information by country.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for books, articles, and other publication in gender-related scholarship, 1972-present.
1972-present; Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines the Women's Studies International database and Men's Studies databases to provide coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes links to freely available and indexed full text articles and documents on the Web. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.