An open access database covering various countries in Latin America and the Caribbean and providing access to academic journal articles and other resources. There are 16 countries in the SciELO network: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela. You may access information by country.
The Oliveira Lima Library is a collection of Luso-Brazillian material with the core of its content derived from the "long" nineteenth century. This collection turns the spotlight on South America's largest and most influential power, covering topics such as: colonialism, missionaries, slave trade and abolition, economic development and agricultural trade, Indigenous Peoples, international relations, and the fight for Brazilian independence.
The Brasiliana Collection is comprised of various discrete collections on Brazil (literatura de cordel, catadora/cartonera books, archives, materials on espiritismo, pamphlets from the Igreja Positivista do Brasil, historical magazines, etc.) as well as individual items.
Brown has one of the largest collection of Brazilian films in the United States. In 2012, a generous donation of more than 800 Brazilian feature films, documentaries, cartoons, shorts, and other materials from the Cinemateca Brasileira, complemented Brown’s outstanding assortment of films about Brazilian history, culture, and society. The collection is accessible through interlibrary loan to borrowers at other universities. Films are individually cataloged in Josiah, the Library's online catalog. Faculty may request streaming for classes through OCRA.
This collection documents the career of Thomas E. Skidmore who was a professor in the Latin American Studies department at the University of Wisconsin (1967-1987) and then at Brown University (1988-1999). His area of focus was Brazil and he was the pre-eminent expert in the United States on the topic of its history and politics. The collection relates primarily to his professional life as a student, professor and scholar. Materials related to his personal life are interspersed throughout with the highest concentration in Series 5. Correspondence.
Professor Skidmore penned ninety sketches detailing his interactions with many influential Brazilians, many of which are reproduced below. His experiences reveal a diverse breadth of characters: presidents, writers, philosophers, hotel maids, and soldiers. Professor Skidmore shares both entertaining anecdotes about live interviews on television and insightful portraits of public figures handling the fluctuations of Brazilian government. This collection of biographical sketches serves as a multidimensional look into Brazil and its people.
Dedicated to digitizing and indexing U.S. government documents related to Brazil from the 1960s-1980s, Opening the Archives is an ongoing effort to make primary sources available to the public. Student researchers, under the leadership of Professor James N. Green, have scanned thousands of records from the presidential libraries of John F. Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, Richard M. Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, and Ronald Reagan, as well as the State Department, USAID, the Peace Corps, among other institutions and organizations. With the ultimate goal of publishing 100,000 records, the project reflects Brown University’s deep commitment to fostering collaborative relationships in the study of Brazil while strengthening the university’s goal of becoming a leading center for the study of Brazil in the United States.
BRASA, founded in 1992, is an international, interdisciplinary group of scholars who support and promote Brazilian studies in all fields, especially in the humanities and social sciences. BRASA is dedicated to the promotion of Brazilian studies around the world in general, and in the United States in particular. This collection contains the records of the organization and include Executive Committee Meeting materials and documentation on the planning and content of the biennial international conferences held by BRASA since 1994.
Código Brasiliense, ou Colleção das leis, alvarás, decretos, cartas régias, &c. promulgadas no Brasil desde a feliz chegada do príncipe regente N. S. a estes estados com hum índice chronologico. Rio de Janeiro: Na Impressão Régia, [1811–1822?]. 3 vols.; 30 cm. (fol.). It is a collection of laws and other official documents, printed in a variety of typefaces and on paper of different quality, and bound together in a 3-volume set.
A collaborative project between the Library of Congress and the National Library of Brazil. This collection, which is presented in both English and Portuguese, studies the interactions that have taken place between the United States and Brazil and the parallels and contrasts in the histories of these countries.
The companion website to the 2010 second edition of Thomas E. Skidmore’s textbook Brazil: Five Centuries of Change, published by Oxford University Press. The content on this site is mainly created and managed by students from Brown University under the mentorship of James N. Green.
The companion website for the eighth edition of Oxford’s Modern Latin America. This website was developed by students at Brown University working with Professor James N. Green in the course “Modern Latin America” and is hosted by Brown University Libraries.
In May 1970, Marcos P. S. Arruda, a young political activist, was seized in São Paulo, imprisoned, and tortured. A Mother’s Cry is the story of Marcos’s incarceration and his family’s efforts to locate him and obtain his release.
A companion website to the book We Cannot Remain Silent where the author, Prof. James N. Green, analyzes the U.S. grassroots activities against torture in Brazil, and the ways those efforts helped to create a new discourse about human-rights violations in Latin America.