The list is sorted by title. Check availability and location by clicking on call number. Films are individually cataloged in BruKnow, the Library's online catalog. Faculty may request streaming for classes through Course Reserves.
Brown has one of the largest collection of Brazilian films in the United States. In 2012, a generous donation of more than 800 Brazilian feature films, documentaries, cartoons, shorts, and other materials from the Cinemateca Brasileira, complemented Brown’s outstanding assortment of films about Brazilian history, culture, and society. The collection is accessible through interlibrary loan to borrowers at other universities. Films are individually cataloged in BruKnow, the Library's online catalog. Faculty may request streaming for classes through Course Reserves.
A video streaming service providing access to independent and documentary films, current.
Current; Kanopy is a video streaming collection of films from a large group of film producers including the Criterion Collection, PBS, Kino Lorber Edu, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, BBC Active Collection, and many others.
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s. It includes the most complete, authoritative versions of the highest quality from leading distributors. Showcasing this legendary period in film history, Silent Film Online provides unparalleled streaming access to some of the most important examples of the medium. The collection highlights works from legendary filmmakers such as Georges Mlis, Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Charles Chaplin, F.W. Murnau, Luis Buuel, Ernst Lubitsch, Victor Sjostrom, Erich von Stroheim, Carl T. Dreyer, Edwin S. Porter, and many others. And the perspective is global, delivering examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France. Alongside the feature films and shorts is a selection of related documentaries.
A collection of approximately 1,300 historical archival films and news videos browsable by subject and producer
The Films on Demand Partnership Collection is a collection of approximately 1,300 historical archival films and news videos browsable by both subject and producer.
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.
This link opens in a new window
