LibGuides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Primary Sources for the History of Health in the Americas

Historical Newspaper Archives -- Latin America and Latino

Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 300 fully searchable Latin American newspapers from more than 20 countries, 1805 -1922.
1805-1922; provides 280 fully searchable Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere, Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922. The Library owns series 1 and series 2 of this resource.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish-language newspapers printed in the United States during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808-1980.
1808-1980; created in cooperation with the University of Houston, this digital resource represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present.
1959-present; Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press beginning in 1990. This includes ENW: A History, which covers the years 1960-1989. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL)
CNDL is supported by the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Granma
Hardcopy and microfilm only. Brown owns 1966-1990. "Organo oficial del Comité Central del Partido Comunista de Cuba." Formed by the merger of "Revolución" and "Noticias de hoy."
La Gaceta de Puerto Rico
Latin American anarchist and labour periodicals, 1880-1940
Microfilm. Reproduces the International Institute of Social History collection of periodicals from the formative period of Latin American labor movements and anarchist groups (1890-1920). The Austrian anarchist, historian and collector, Max Nettlau (1865-1944), amassed the most significant segments of the collection.

Historical Newspaper Archives -- U.S.

List of Individual Historical Newspapers

Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 1.8 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text and images from newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the United States.
Provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
American Periodical Series Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historically significant periodicals from the Americas published between 1740 and 1940
1740-1940; the American Periodicals database indexes periodicals from that time period, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

List of Historical Newspaper Backfiles
Underground Newspaper Collection
Filmed copies of almost 600 underground newspapers from around the world. Accompanied by guide entitled "Underground newspaper microfilm collection. Table of contents."

Current Newspaper Archives

Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent local, national, and regional news content from Latin America, current.
Current; Latin American Newsstream includes eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin American countries give added coverage and perspective. To round out the coverage, Latin American Newsstream also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.

List of Current Newspaper Backfiles

Government Documents

Federal Government Information on the Web
A brief list of popular web sites from U.S. federal government agencies.
Congressional Quarterly Almanac Online
1945-present; annual reference for studying the U.S. Congress, the Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics.
U.S. Congressional Documents
1789-present; formerly LexisNexis Congressional, these are retrospective collections of the publications of the U. S. Congress, including:
U.S. Congressional Hearings, 1824-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1789-2003
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
U.S. Congressional Record, 1789-1997
U.S. Congressional UnPubished Hearings, Part A and B

Primary Sources at Brown - Digital, Women Studies

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000: Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities from colonial times to the-present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the-present, was developed by Thomas Dublin and Kathryn Kish Sklar of the State University of New York at Binghamton in an internationally-renown website of the same name.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A primary source collection that includes the diaries and letters of 1,325 women, colonial era
Colonial-1950; ongoing. When complete, the collection will include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 7,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Includes materials from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth Through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection of primary resources from Cuba is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between independence and the end of the Batista regime, 1898-1958.
1898-1958; this collection is a study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime. In the decades following its independence from Spain in 1898, Cuba adopted the most progressive legislation for women in the western hemisphere. The documents in this collection, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.

Primary Sources at Brown - Digital, Images and Books

Brown Digital Repository: The Brown Digital Repository (BDR) is a place to gather, index, store, preserve, and make available digital assets produced via the scholarly, instructional, research, and administrative activities at Brown.

Flowers for those you love. Richard Brautigan. Harris Broadsides, John Hay Library.

Latin American Travelogues: A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries held at the John Hay Library.

Image from En Haïti; planteurs d'autrefois, nègres d'aujourd'hui. Aubin, Eugène, b. 1863. Paris : A. Colin: 1910. Latin American Travelogues.

John Carter Brown Library Archive of Early American Images: Graphic representations of the colonial Americas from 1492 to ca. 1825.

Isola spagnvola. [Navigazioni e viaggi. Volume 3] Terzo volume delle navigationi et viaggi. Giovanni Battista Ramusio. In Venetia [Venice] : Nella Stamperia de Giunti, M D LVI [1556]. JCB Archive of Early American Images.

Haiti Collection: The John Carter Brown Library holds one of the world's great collections relating to Haiti. Our rare books, maps and newspapers tell the story of the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue (once the most lucrative colony in the Americas), its demise through the Haitian Revolution (the world's only successful slave revolution) and the founding of Haiti in its place. By providing access to this collection, the JCB hopes to stimulate interest in Haiti's remarkable history.

Primary Sources at Brown -- Cuban Slavery

Cuban Slavery Documents collection, 1820-1892
Documents including letters, certificates, and inventories relating to the institution of slavery, slaves, and indentured servants in Cuba during the 19th century. Many of the documents refer to Chinese people brought to Cuba as indentured servants or contract laborers (colonos).
Schirmer Collection on Anti-Imperialism
This collection, assembled by Daniel Boone Schirmer, currently numbers 964 titles dealing with the Anti-Imperialist movement of 1898 and its repercussions in United States, Cuban, Puerto Rican, and Filipino history. It deals with the debate within the United States during and after the Spanish-American War over the appropriate relationship between the English-speaking and Spanish speaking Americas.

Primary Sources at Brown -- Alcoholism

The Chester H. Kirk Collection on Alcoholism and Alcoholics Anonymous: The 15,000 items purchased initially with Chester Kirk's gift were amassed over two decades by Charles Bishop, an antiquarian bookseller and author of several research tools on Alcoholics Anonymous and related groups. American in emphasis, the collection provided rich resources for the study of the temperance and prohibitions movements of the 19th and 20th centuries, hospital-based treatment of addictive behavior, and the 20th century evolution of self-help programs under the leadership of Alcoholics Anonymous.

Dr. Bob Archives - The Robert Holbrook Smith Collection of Books, Manuscripts and Memorabilia: This collection consists of over five thousand items, including two hundred books, dozens of pieces of memorabilia, and several hundred manuscripts (original and photocopied) and photographs once the property of "Dr. Bob," the legendary co-founder of Alcoholics Anonymous. The collection was purchased in November 1999 from Sue Smith Windows, Dr. Smith's daughter and donated by Esmond Harmsworth, James Abernathy, Christopher Ohrstrom, Mark Ohrstrom, and Richard Ohrstrom. Books, all from Smith's personal library, deal with religious and spiritual topics as well as the problems of addiction and recovery.

The Ernest Kurtz Collection on Alcoholism: Assembled by Ernest Kurtz, beginning in the 1970s. the major strengths of this collection are interviews with and testimonials by alcoholics, and talks given at various workshops. Subjects covered include personal narratives by individuals suffering and recovering from alcoholism. Materials include audio tapes and cassettes.

The Clarence Snyder A.A. Collection: This collection was acquired in 1999 from Mitchell R. Klein, CASAC. The collection contains correspondence, audio tapes and other materials. See list of audiotapes.

Morals and venereal disease. Alcohol, Temperance & Prohibition: A Brown University Library Digital Collection.

Primary Sources at Brown -- Medical

Rhode Island Medical Society (RIMS) Library: Two important groups of rare or unusual materials collected by the Rhode Island Medical Society in its 175 years can be found in Special Collections at the Hay Library.

Meyer Saklad Collection on Surgical Anaesthesia: Compiled by Rhode Island anaesthesiologist Meyer Saklad, this collection consists of more than 300 books and publications which trace the development of surgical anesthesia, focusing on the period from the mid-19th century to the mid-20th century. The collection does include a smattering of earlier material, including a 1588 edition of Hippocrates.

Charles Reitman Pharmacopoeia Collection: Charles Reitman, a graduate of the Rhode Island College of Pharmacology, compiled this collection over the course of his long career as a Providence pharmacist and chemist. The 1,500 titles in the collection cover materia medica worldwide, including works on medicinal plants, homeopathic remedies, and formularies for the making of medicines and drugs from the 17th through the 20th centuries.

Resources Beyond Brown - General Open Archives

Forgotten Village (1941). Internet Archive. American documentary film directed by Herbert Kline and Alexander Hammid. Written by John Steinbeck, narrated by Burgess Meredith, with music by Hanns Eisler. Banned in New York due to the film's portrayal of childbirth and showing a baby at its mother's breast. Depicts the conflicts between traditional life in a Mexican village, and outsiders who want to introduce modernization.

Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.