LibGuides: Hispanic Studies: Latinx Literature

Find Articles and Books

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other research materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, 1967-present.
1970-present; HAPI is an online source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Included are complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in over 400 key scholarly social science and humanities journals published worldwide.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture
The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture
Arte Pblico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 presents manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and womens rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century. The database features over manuscript content, newspaper titles, and books. The collection draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project that seeks to gather lost or rare documents and publications pertinent to Hispanic history and culture.

Special Collections, John Hay Library

Codex Espangliensis: from Columbus to the Border Patrol. John Hay Library.

Codex Espangliensis: from Columbus to the border patrol
Images from pre-Hispanic times to present day Mexico merge with traditions of Western art and contemporary American pop culture to illustrate Mexican/United States border culture on the eve of the millennium. A collaborative artists' book made up of performance texts and poems by Guillermo Gómez-Peña interwoven with collage imagery by Enrique Chagoya into book form by Felicia Rice of Moving Parts Press.
Arte Público Press
The nation’s largest and most established publisher of contemporary and recovered literature by U.S. Hispanic authors.
Camino del Sol - University of Arizona Press
Camino del Sol publishes original creative writing by Latina and Latino writers. The series comprises individual volumes in a variety of genres including short fiction, novels, essays, and poetry.
El Coyote - comic book strip
El Coyote is a pulp fiction character created by the Spanish novelist José Mallorquí Figuerola, in 1943, based on the character of Johnston McCulley 's Zorro. This character was most popular in Spain, and lead to eponymous comic book and film and radio adaptations. The John Hay Library also holds three trading card sets featuring El Coyote: El Coyote, La vuelta del Coyote and Huracán sobre Monterrey.

Latinx journals held at the John Hay Library:

Revista Chicano-Riqueña (1973-1985)
A seminal Latinx arts and literature journal published by Indiana University, Research Center for the Language Sciences. The Library also holds The Americas Review (1986-1999), its continuation.
Maize (1977-1983)
Published in San Diego by Centro Cultural de la Raza Publications.
Mango (1976-1980)
Chicano literature.
Cenzontle (1978-1982)
Chicano literature journal published by the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, University of California, Irvine. Previous title is Chicano Literary Prize.
Chicano Literary Prize (1975-1978)
Chicano literature journal published by the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, University of California, Irvine. Later title is Cenzontle. Previous title is Concurso literario en español.
Concurso literario en español (1975-1976)
Chicano literature journal published by the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, University of California, Irvine. Later title is Chicano Literary Prize.