Hispanic Studies

This digital library is organized in seven sections: special collections, works, playwrights, research, stage setting, modern adaptions/performance and audiovisual.

Theater of the Spanish Golden Age from the collection of the Spanish National Library.

A digital union catalog providing information on Spanish Golden Age printed plays available in American academic libraries. It currently contains almost 3,500 bibliographic records from five institutions: Smith College (Massachusetts), Queens College (City University of New York), the University of Texas A&M, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and the University of Texas at Austin.

ARTELOPE is an open access digital project centered on the plays of Lope de Vega and providing access to over 405 entries containing information and plot summaries of his plays. The project is directed by Prof. Joan Oleza at the University of Valencia.

Printed guide to 800 plays from the Spanish Golden Age.

An open access database dedicated to plots and motifs in the theater of Calderón de la Barca.

An open access database of plays mentioned in theater resources from 1540-1700. It provides a calendar of performances from this period.

A biographical dictionary of Spanish actors from the Early Modern period. This edition is published in CD-ROM.

A digital open access edition of the complete texts of Luis de Gongora and the controversy surrounding their reception in the 17th Century.

Manos is a collaborative project, dedicated to analysis and dissemination of information of nearly 3,000 surviving manuscripts of Spanish classical theater.

A mid-16th Century bound manuscript created in Germany by an anonymous artist and containing hand-colored illustrations depicting male and female fashions of the period in Spain, Latin America, Portugal, France and other regions. It is an example of a genre that became quite popular in the 16th Century.

Cesare Vecellio, who joined the workshop of his famous cousin Titian before 1548, was active as a publisher by 1570. This book contains 420 illustrations of costumes by the woodcutter Christoph Krieger. The first section of his book covers European dress, including Ottoman Turkey, while the short section on Africa and Asia includes the costume of Persians, Moors, and Arabs.

The Book of the Courtier (Il Cortegiano) by Baldassare Castiglione, is a philosophical dialogue on the topic of what constitutes an ideal courtier or court lady, worthy to befriend and advise a Prince or political leader. A seminal publication on etiquette, self-presentation, and morals at princely or royal courts of the Early Modern period.

A traveling exhibit about fashion during the Spanish Golden Age.

Digitized illustrations from editions of El Quijote held at the John Hay Library.

Early editions of El Quijote held at the Spanish National Library.

The first edition of El Quijote (1605) digitized by the Spanish National Library. The site provides added content and interactive features.

Digitized illustrations from El Quijote made available by the Biblioteca Cervantes Virtual.

The Cervantes Project, developed and maintained at Texas A&M University in collaboration with Dr. Fred Jehle of Indiana-Purdue University provides access to the Cervantes International Bibliography Online (CIBO), the Anuario Bibliográfico Cervantino (ABC), the Cervantes Digital Library (CDL) and the Cervantes Digital Archive of Images (CDAI).

The Cervantes Collection from the Digital Heritage Virtual Library provides access to: the works of Cervantes, biographies, essays, adaptations, exhibition catalogs, adaptations for children, texts about Cervantes or El Quixote, theatrical works, poems, articles, photographs, art prints, paintings, maps, speeches, publications from The III Centenary of Don Quixote and lectures.

Chivalry literature from the collection of the Spanish National Library.

A digital library dedicated to Spanish literature, history and art from the 16th-17th centuries.

Spanish Golden Age research group from the Universidad de Navarra.

Hispana is a national portal to open access digital resources from Spain and the national content aggregator to Biblioteca Europeana. It contains digital collections belonging to Spanish archives, libraries and museums.

A digital library about Francisco Quevedo directed by Ignacio Arellano from University of Navarra. It provides access to Quevedo's complete works, extensive information on the life and work of the author as well as relevant works of literary criticism.

An open access digital resource that includes a database of women writers from Spain from the Middle Ages to 1800.