A basic log of vendor loading information is kept within the Load Instructions Spreadsheet. A more detailed account can be found here. Each of these vendor import profiles are setup in Alma to be added to a vendor e-collection. These collections are set to automatically add our current proxy and public access note to the catalog link so these changes can be made globally. A change to the default proxy within Alma should update all our electronic collections proxy information. When adding a new e-collection to Alma, make sure you select our default proxy to avoid any issues when a change is made further down the line. Historically we would add a 995 marc field to each vendor record loaded containing the loader's initials, the date of load, and the term "BATCH". This is no longer necessary in Alma due to the version history and user tracking.
Adam Matthew Digital
These marc files are updated or added as needed and downloaded from the Adam Matthew website.
A local 910 field is added to each record containing "amdigital", and the 710 field containing "Adam Matthew Digital (firm)" is removed.
Some collections contain very detailed marc records, while others are sparse. If the records we receive only contain a 653 filled with keywords and no other subject headings, then we add in FAST headings. [See OpenRefine for more instructions]
These records should be added to the "Adam Matthew Digital" e-collection within Alma.
This is a manual load to Alma using import profiles.
Vendor Contact: alicias@amedu.com
Alexander Street Press
These marc files are downloaded monthly from the ASP website.
A local 910 field is added to each record containing "asp[collection]" (e.g. aspLAVA). The collection name is found in both the vendor record indentifier number, and the url. The id number is originally found in the 001, but is moved to the 035 after being imported into Alma (this is a process Alma automatically performs to all imports and not specific to this import profile).
Some records historically have not contained RDA (3xx) fields. As such an RDA helper is applied to this load and will add basic 336, 337, and 338 fields based off the LEADER and 007 fields.
These records should be added to the proper Alexander Street Press e-collection within Alma.
This is a manual load to Alma using import profiles
Vendor Contact: TechnicalSupport@proquest.com OR paul.farris@proquest.com
Hong Kong University Library (HKUL)
These marc files are added as needed and forwarded by the Curator of the East Asian Collection. Previous Sierra instructions can be found here.
The 050 LC call number is copied to the 852 field which contains holding call numbers. Indicators in the 852 the first indicator should be 0 (for Library of Congress) and the second indicator should be blank.
These are physical items and may need to be added to the oversized collections. If the 300.c is 27cm or larger, a 090.f field should be added containing a #-SIZE based on the size of the item:
1-SIZE 2-SIZE 3-SIZE 27-30cm 31-44cm 45+cm A local 910 field is added to each record containing "HKUL".
These should all be loaded into the ROCK Chinese location. The 960 contains the barcode.
This is a manual load to Alma using import profiles. These records should not be loaded until the physical items are confirmed by the East Asian Collection Curator to have been received. We will often receive the marc files at the time these items are shipped so it could be a few weeks between receiving the marc files and receiving the physical copies.
Vendor Contact: See the East Asian Collection Curator
JSTOR Bought
These records are downloaded from the OCLC Worldcat Management System on a monthly basis (the frequency can be changed as needed, but I believe monthly works best).
A local 910 field is added to each record containing "JSTOR Bought"
These records should be added to the "JSTOR Bought" e-collection within Alma.
This is a manual load to Alma using import profiles
Notes: Historically we also had DDA (demand driven acquisition) plans from JSTOR, and many of these boughts were from purchases triggered via the DDA plan. As thus we needed to track the difference between our DDA and Bought records (910 JSTOR Bought vs 910 JSTOR DDA), as well as ensure the DDA records were removed after being purchased. Futhermore, we ran a GOBI DDA plan that had overlap with the JSTOR plan, so we needed to ensure we did not have the same item appearing twice in our catalog under separate DDA plans - potentially triggering a double purchase. We added to the 001 field jstordda or gobidda after the oclc number. You may stumble across some of these old practices preserved in the marc data, but as of Alma we are no longer using these DDA plans and thus these practices are no longer needed.
Vendor Contact: patrick.moriarty@ithaka.com
Kanopy
These records are downloaded monthly from the Kanopy website.
We typically purchase yearly licenses for these videos, as thus we typically delete these records yearly in August. Lists of purchases and deletes are kept by the Head of Collection Strategies for Licensing and Assessment.
A local 910 field is added to each record containing "Kanopy"
Delete 710 "Kanopy(firm)"
Delete 856 "cover image"
These records should be added to the "Kanopy" e-collection within Alma.
This is a manual load to Alma using import profiles
Vendor Contact: dylan.mcginty@kanopy.com
LEILA
These records are added as needed and forward by the Head of Acquisitions and Material Processing or an Acquistions SLS. Previous Sierra instructions can be found here.
A local 910 field is added to each record containing "LEILA"
The 050 LC call number is copied to the 852 field which contains holding call numbers. Indicators in the 852 the first indicator should be 0 (for Library of Congress) and the second indicator should be blank.
These are physical items and may need to be added to the oversized collections. If the 300.c is 27cm or larger, a 090.f field should be added containing a #-SIZE based on the size of the item:
1-SIZE 2-SIZE 3-SIZE 27-30cm 31-44cm 45+cm This is a manual load to Alma using import profiles. These records should not be imported until Acquisitions confirms the physical items have arrived. These marc files are sent when the physical items ship, so there could be several weeks between receiving the marc file and receiving the physical items.
When loading these records you will need to confirm we received the correct items. These titles are in arabic and may be difficult to match with the marc records. If needed matching the barcodes on the physical items with the barcodes in the provided marc records is an acceptable alternative.
After importing these records, go to Acquisitions > Post-Receiving Process > Scan in items, and scan each barcode as "Send to Annex General" in order to update the work order status.
Once finished, the physical items should be placed on a cart to the Annex.
Vendor Contact: See the Head of Acquisitions and Material Processing.
Marcive
These records are added monthly to Alma via FTP.
The Has two separate import profiles - one for change and one for new. This is because of the naming conventions via the FTP server, there is no way to grab both at the same time without accidentally grabbing a wrong file.
These records should be added to the "MARCIVE GPO" e-collection within Alma.
This is an automatic load to Alma using import profiles set up with an FTP connection and scheduled to update monthly. You can add an e-mail address under the Import Profile's Scheduling to receive updates on whether a load was successful or failed.
Vendor Contact: See Head of Cataloging
Oxford Scholarship Online
These marc files arrive as needed and is forwarded by the Head of Collection Strategies for Licensing and Assessment.
A local 910 field is added containing "Oxford Scholarship Online".
Some records historically have not contained RDA (3xx) fields. As such an RDA helper is applied to this load and will add basic 336, 337, and 338 fields based off the LEADER and 007 fields.
These records should be added to the "Oxford Scholarship Online" e-collection within Alma.
This is a manual load to Alma using import profiles
Vendor Contact: See Head of Collection Strategies for Licensing and Assessment
Swank
These records are added yearly from the swank website.
We typically purchase yearly licenses for these videos, as thus we typically add and delete these records yearly in August. Lists of purchases and deletes are kept by the Head of Collection Strategies for Licensing and Assessment.
A local 910 field is added containing "swank".
These records should be added to the "Swank" e-collection within Alma.
This is a manual load to Alma using import profiles
Note: "In 2017 we received the MARC records from OCLC, whereas in 2018 we received them from SWANK. The SWANK records had unique identifiers while the OCLC records had an OCN. The OCLC records were of better quality and we wanted to keep them, so we had to match on the 856 and again on the 245 using MARCEdit Merge to determine which records were already in the Sierra and which were not. Records already in Sierra would be updated to have the new SWANK identifier in the 001 and the OCN moved to the 035, as well as ensure the 856s were up to date. Records of movies that are no longer available but were received from OCLC are suppressed rather than deleted. If these movies become available again, we can unsuppress them as they are of better quality than the ones SWANK sends us. Please look for Suppressed 910 Swank records and compare them against next year’s list."
Vendor Contact: See Head of Collection Strategies for Licensing and Assessment
