Some microfilm are ordered under or with a “print” bibliographic record (example: .b41125022 (TLS Literary Times Supplement). Microfilm order, item and checkin records “should remain” with the print record. There should be an indication in the checkin record on the “public display” of these records which indicate “what” microfilm the library holds along with a “non” Library of Congress call number sequence. If there appears to be a problem or the record is not displaying properly please contact the Library acquisitions manager for further instructions.
There is increasing interest in the ability to improve the discoverability of datasets in library discovery systems, and the ability to better track and analyze datasets as part of the library’s collections. The following data will be implemented in existing dataset records, added to record sets loads for data sets, and will be included in cataloging records for data sets cataloged at Brown, either for resources that we purchase, or resources that we manage in the BDR.
This approach to describing datasets is adapted primarily from Yale University Library’s dataset cataloging documentation. https://web.library.yale.edu/cataloging/datasets
Below are the fields and values directly related to the item being a dataset. Include other fields as regularly expected including URLs, Subject Headings, Notes, etc.
This coding is for all datasets, there are more specific options that can be used to create more precise descriptions based on the type of content.
Leader & 008 – code as computer file (except primarily geospatial data which would be cartographic material) and appropriate bibliographic level, publication information, etc.
Include in form of item and type of item the appropriate information about what type of data and access is present
Byte 26 of the 008 is key for identifying the type of dataset, match to the value in the leader, likely frequent options Remembering that geospatial data is regarded as geographic material first.
007 – include coded for computer file
336 - |a computer dataset |bcod 2|rdacontent
337 - |computer |b c |2rdamedia
338 – dependent on whether it’s a disc, online, or something else/
506 - local restrictions for access due to licenses or local data-owner wishes
538 – Any system requirements specified, including software
655 /7 - |a Data sets. |2lcgft
For MODS this can translate to the use of
<mods:genre> of the lcgft term Data sets in all dataset records, along with the <mods:typeOfResource> of “Computer file”
Then more specific information / headings can also be added. These field would be used to pull together the datasets across the bdr and allow for them to be integrated with the datasets in the catalog.
For system requirements, use <mods:note type=”system requirements”>
Use <mods:internetMediaType> where possible for specifying file types.
This document primarily serves to record the history of various modifications made to local records in Millennium (or its predecessors), most of which have been discontinued. Additionally, practices truly unique to Brown’s treatment of local bibliographic information are included. Current practices that must be done as part of cataloging workflow (e.g., copying our call number to a field in the call number index) are recorded in [LINK TO CURRENT CAT DOC]
CURRENT as of April 19, 2018
590 generally in format:
COLLECTION (LOCATION) copy: Information
Examples:
ROLLO SILVER (ANNEX HAY) copy: Annotated by Josiah Carberry
HAY HARRIS RARE copy: Issued loosely; pages not bound
CURRENT as of April 19, 2018
Title traced as author in 710 29 $5 RPB. Form most easily identify using Verify Heading function
Example:
b 710 29 Rollo Silver Collection (Brown University)|5RPB
Previous policy: Holdings of serials or multivolume monographs recorded in field 599 in bibliographic records. Discontinuation affirmed March 2013:
Please do not use the 599 "library has" field to record holdings for any new bib records. The attached item records serve as a more dynamic and reliable record of holdings.
For older materials you may be working with, please delete any 599 fields on bib records for which all holdings are represented by item records.
You may continue to use the 599 field to record holdings for large monographic sets which are NOT fully represented by item records, but please be sure to update the 599 if you are adding holdings.
For serials, please use a checkin record to record holdings.
The 599 field is non-standard and causes various problems for collection evaluation and maintenance. The location information in it is often non-standard, and the holdings are often not kept up properly. When items are transferred (especially to the Annex) the 599 field cannot be updated in any of our automated processing routines.
Policy established January 2015: Keep 856 links to the entire full-text resource (or to the graphic, online map, etc.) AND test the link to make sure Brown users have access. Be very suspicious of links bearing the name of another institution in notes or the URL itself (e.g., "Access limited to Stanford ..."). Edit out all other 856s: contents, summaries, bios, cover art -- everything other than full text.
Global update is run to set to 08 (do not display). Accept on copy as-is.
|
600, 610, 611, 630, 650 |
Delete $e, $r, $u *Delete all headings with 2nd indicator 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 |
|
655 |
Delete for non-special collections |
|
700-730 |
Delete $e, $u, $4 |
|
752 |
Delete |
|
775 |
Delete |
|
776 |
Delete |
* Practice through September 2017. Recommend discontinuing deletion in favor of changing display rules in Josiah (Blacklight interface) to suppress these fields from display. Rationale: 1) Efficiency 2) German-language headings in particular often contain $0, removal of which contradicts efforts to utilize ISNI, linked data, and authority control 3) if we ever want these in our records for any reason, it is not easy to get them back
Brown University Library | Providence, RI 02912 | (401) 863-2165 | Contact | Comments | Library Feedback | Site Map
