You will need the correct permissions to access Analytics. It can be found in Alma under Analytics > Create Analysis > Access Analytics. In Analytics you have access to your personal folders, Brown public folders, and Alma Community folders. The Alma Community folders are a great resource for looking up Analysis ideas.
Create
To create a new Analysis, you will need to select a Subject Area which will include relevant data folders. As far as I can tell there is no way to combine two Subject Areas without using SQL in the Advanced Section to edit your FROM conditions. So if you wish to compare physical inventory with portfolios you will need to learn some basic SQL.
- Select Create
- Select Analysis
- Select Subject Area:
- Common Subject Areas include:
- Titles - Contains Bibliographic level data
- Physical Items - Contains Item Inventory Data for physical items, including some Holdings and Bibliographic level data E-Inventory - Contains Portfolio Inventory Data for electonic items, including some Collection and Bibliographic level data
Once you've opened your new analysis, you will need to add columns from the folders list and add in any filters as necessary. There is a search button shaped like a magnify glass you can use to search the folders.
- From the Subject Area folders - either Drag and Drop or Double Click on a column to add it to the Analysis.
- Once in the Column List, click on the column's gear button, then select Filter to add a new filter related to that column's data.
- Once all desired columns and filters are added, click Results
- Select the Save button at the top right to save the Analysis to either your personal folder or a public Brown folder which will be accessible to others.
Local Params
- Local Param 01 = 907 (Sierra Bib ID)
- Local Param 02 = 910 (Cat Processing history or record source)
- Local Param 03 = 945 (Sierra Item record)
- Local Param 04 = 995 (Cataloger's initial and date)
- Local Param 05 = 996 (Book plate url and note)
Example
In Brown University 01BU_INST/Reports is "CAT: Annex Transit Errors", this Analysis searches for Annex items marekd as 'in transit' for more than two weeks.
- Selected Columns:
- Physical_Item_Details.Process_Type
- Physical_Item_Details.Barcode
- Physical_Item_Details.Modification_Date
- Location.Location_Name
- Bibliographic_Details.Title
- Physical_Item_Details.Process_Type_Date
- Filters:
- Proccess Type is equal to/is in Transit
- AND Location Name is equal to/is in Annex Hay; Annex Storage
- AND Process Type Date is less than TIMESTAMPADD(SQL_TSI_DAY, -14, CURRENT_DATE)
- Save your Analysis to a Brown public folder. (Brown University 01BU_INST/Reports/...)
- In Alma, go to Analytics > My Analytics > Analytics Object List
- Select 'Add New Alma Analytics Object' on the top right
- Select the Folder you saved to
- Select the File
- Rename the Widget name as needed in the third box
- Open the object and scroll down to 'Report Preview'
- Check the 'Add as widget' checkmark box
- On your Alma Homepage, click the blue (+) button on the top right corner
- Select the widget from the list by clicking the checkmark box. The widget should now appear on your Alma Homepage
- To Add SQL to the Column Formula:
- Click the gear on the added column
- Select 'Edit Formula'
- Edit the forumla using SQL directly in the 'Column Formula' box, or add it using the Formula Button.
- Click on the 'f(...)' button
- Select from the folders a premade SQL formula by double clicking on it. This will automatically add it to the Column Formula box.
- To Add SQL to the Filters:
- Hover over the filter to make the 'Edit filter' button (shaped like a pencil) to appear, or create a new filter.
- In the pop up box, click 'Add More Options'
- Select 'SQL Expressions' to create a new input box for SQL code
- Enter SQL code into the input box, relative to WHERE conditions
Export
Excel
On the Results page, click on the "Export this Analysis" button which looks like a blank piece of paper with an arrow pointing away from it. Select Data > Excel - An Excel sheet will automatically download to your computer.
Widgets
You may need special permissions in Alma seperate from the normal Analytics permissionsto be able to create widgets.
Advanced
SQL
To write a SQL code analysis from scratch, go to 'Advanced' then you can add or edit the SQL in the 'SQL Issued' box by using the 'New Analysis' button to pop up an editable window.
SQL can also be added to the column formulas and the filters on the 'Criteria' page.
