Alma Acquisitions and Cataloging Training

Ex Libris Resources

Ex Libris Knowledge Center - Search the Ex Libris Knowledge Center directly, or simply use Google to search for keywords.

Ex Libris Alma Libguides - Ex Libris training videos.

Ex Libris's Alma and Primo VE Administration Certification - Certification is the process by which a library staff member is granted permission to make changes to the configuration settings in Alma/Primo VE.

Alma What's New Videos - Very short videos by Ex Libris about changes to Alma from the monthly software releases!

Ex Libris Users of North America (ELUNA) Resources

ELUNA Alma-L Email List - ELUNA is the international user community for Ex Libris customers in the Americas. This is an open email forum for all users of Alma and for Ex Libris staff.

ELUNA Primo Email List - ELUNA is the international user community for Ex Libris customers in the Americas. This is an open email forum for all users of Primo and Primo VE and for Ex Libris staff. When you review the archives or pose a question, be sure to look for or mention that in I-Share we use Primo VE (not classic Primo).

ELUNA Document Repository (User Group presentations, etc.)

Other Training Resources

Harvard Library Training Videos - Training Videos and Instructions made by Harvard University.

SUNY Alma & Primo VE Training Guide - Suggested Training Guide from SUNY Libraries

CUNY Alma Training Guide - Suggested Training Guide from CUNY

Cataloging Training Powerpoints:

• Module 1 - Introduction to Alma 

• Module 2 - Searching in Alma 

• Module 3 - Working with Bibliographic Records: pt.1 MD Editor Basics 

• Module 3 - Working with Bibliographic Records, pt.2 Importing Records 

• Module 4 - Working with Inventory 

Basic Training for Acquisitions and Cataloging Staff  

This compilation of recommended Ex Libris Alma Online Trainings was selected by the CARLI Technical Services Committee

ORIENTATION

01 Introduction to Alma Training (11 min)

02 Introduction to Alma (12 min)

NAVIGATION AND SEARCHING

01 Navigating in Alma (10 min)

02 Searching in Alma (7 min)

ACQUISITIONS PROCESSING

01 Acquisitions Conceptual Background (11 min)

02 Purchasing Workflows (26 min)

03 Activation Workflows (13 min)

04 Receiving Workflows (17 min)

05 Creating Invoices Manually (12 min)

06 Acquisitions Invoicing Workflows (13 min)

COPY CATALOGING

02 Metadata Editor and Cataloging Templates (19 min)

04 Importing Bibliographic, Inventory and Order Records in Batch (9 min)

05 Work Orders (8 min)

CATALOGING

01 Creating Sets, Running and Monitoring Jobs (17 min)

02 Metadata Editor and Cataloging Templates (19 min)

03 Local Search Indexes and External Search Resources (5 min)

04 Importing Bibliographic, Inventory and Order Records in Batch (9 min)

05 Work Orders (8 min)

ELECTRONIC RESOURCE MANAGEMENT

06 Electronic Resources Conceptual Background (15 min)

01 Creating Sets, Running and Monitoring Jobs (17 min)

04 Importing Bibliographic, Inventory and Order Records in Batch (9 min)

Training for Cataloging and Acquisitions Alma Administrators

ACQUISITION

01 Acquisitions Conceptual Background (11 min)

Acquisitions 01: Import Profiles Part 1: New Order (14 min)

Acquisitions 02: Import Profiles Part 2: Update Inventory (14 min)

Acquisitions 03: Purchasing and Invoicing Rules (10 min)

Acquisitions 04: Additional Settings (9 min)

Alma Implementation Training: Purchasing and Managing Physical Resources

Alma Implementation Training: Purchasing and Managing Electronic Resources

CATALOGING FUNCTIONS

01 Creating Sets, Running and Monitoring Jobs (17 min)

02 Metadata Editor and Cataloging Templates (19 min)

03 Local Search Indexes and External Search Resources (5 min)

04 Importing Bibliographic, Inventory and Order Records in Batch (9 min)

05 Work Orders (8 min)

CATALOGING CONFIGURATION

Resources 01: Search Configuration (15 min)

Resources 02: Normalization Rules (11 min)

Resources 03: Normalization Processes (11 min)

Resources 04: Indication Rules (11 min)

Resources 05: Match Methods (15 min)

Resources 06: Merge Methods (15 min)

Resources 07: Import Profiles Part I: Descriptive Metadata (19 min)

Resources 08: Import Profiles Part II: Inventory Creation (17 min)

Resources 09: Metadata Configuration and Controlled Vocabularies (13 min)

Resources 10: Brief Record Levels (13 min) 

Resources 11: Cataloger Permission Levels (10 min)

Resources 12: Record Export (13 min)

Resources 13: Call Number Parsing, Barcode Generation, and Description Templates (11 min)

Resources 14: Call Numbers, Libraries, and Locations (7 min)

REPORTS

01 Introduction to Alma Analytics (18 min)

Analytics 01: Creating Analytics Objects (5 min)

Analytics 02: Analytics User Statistics (8 min)

SYSTEMS

Fulfillment 01: Library and Campus Management (9 min)

General 04: Security (7 min)

General 05: Alma Sandbox Management (9 min)

Resources 01: Search Configuration (15 min)

Resources 02: Normalization Rules (11 min)

Resources 03: Normalization Processes (11 min)

Resources 04: Indication Rules (11 min)

Resources 05: Match Methods (15 min)

01 Alma and Primo Interoperability Part 1 (17 min)

02 Alma and Primo Interoperability Part 2 (11 min)