Identify Millennium record

• Look up record for item in Millennium by title.

• Locate correct record.

• Confirm Brown barcode on item in hand matches barcode in item record

Basic (MUST be checked) in Millennium or OCLC

Bibliographic record matches item in hand, specifically:

• Format (print/electronic/large print etc) [fields: fixed fields, 006, 007, 250]

• Publisher: at least one publisher on item in hand is represented on the bibliographic record and vice versa [fields: 260, 264]

• Edition: no discrepancy between item and bib record [fields: 250, notes]

• Date: at least one date on the item matches item in hand and vice versa [fields: 260, 264, Dates]

• Physical characteristics (pagination, dimensions) [fields: 300]

• Language of content matches language of content of item [fields: Lang, 041]

• Standard numbers other than UPC on the item in hand are in the bib record (ISBN, EAN, ISMN) [fields: 020, 024, 028]

Quality control:

• English-language record (040 $b eng; or, 040 $b with no other code; or, no 040 $b but notes are in English)

• LC-style call number present in 050 or 090

• Physical resources (print books, media) contain 300$c

• Nonfiction works contain at least one LC subject heading (2nd indicator=0 in fields 600, 610, 611, 630, 650, or 651)

• Multi-volume titles with partial contents: see “Multi-volume Sets Lacking Volume Description in Millennium,” below

Beyond basic. Additionally:

• For LC call numbers, confirm Brown LC call number is reasonably shelflisted (adjust local c090 if needed)

• Contains 007 for media-primary resource (e.g. CD, DVD) (generally, edit master record to add)

• Verify authorized access points for names, works, and series. These should point to the correct entity, or if they do not match to an authority record, there should be no conflict with an established access point. It is not necessary to import authority records by hand.

• Check whether series in 4900# have authority records that were created after the bib record (applies mostly to older items). Change to 4901_/8xx if so. Do not edit a record solely to change 440 to 490/8xx.

• Check complete volume listing for multi-volume sets. If not there:

  • Search/re-search OCLC for “updated” copy which includes updated or unit-less 300 and enhanced 505 content note. If found, first note bib record location. Then overlay OCLC record back onto Millennium record. When a new record is overlaid, bib record cat date, suppress status (-), and location must be re-entered.

• For traced named special collections items, trace name locally.

If Millennium Record does not meet minimum standards or needs contents note, etc. 

Search OCLC for acceptable copy. Overlay.
 

If/when Millennium copy is acceptable, proceed to local work checklist

Local (Millennium) Work Checklist (REQUIRED)

• BIB record

  • Delete 856 fields that do not lead to either full text/content of resource or to supplemental material referenced in variable fields. This includes deletion of proxy URLs for other institutions.

  • Delete field 263 (projected publication date)

  • Call number is indexed in Josiah using correct field tag (c 090##)

  • Indexed call number in c090 contains exactly one $a and one $b

  • Indexed call number in c090 for monographs includes year

  • Indexed call number in c090 has oversize designation in $f as appropriate

  • All field visually scanned checked for oddities such as html codes, excessive extraneous punctuation, glaring typos, etc

  • Paying careful attention to indicators and $2, delete 

    • 6xx_4 fields. 600, 610, 611, 630, 650, 651 where the second indicator is 4

    • 653 fields (all)

    • 6xx_7 with $2 local. 600, 610, 611, 630, 650, 651 where the second indicator is 7, there a subfield $2, and the text in subfield $2 is local, eg 655_7Cats|2local 

    • Any 6xx that contains a subfield $2 that is anything other than “local” should stay in the record (added 3/1/2018)

    • (added 3/1/2018)

  • Correct location code

  • Cat Date set to date of cataloging

  • Suppress code changed to “u” in order to update OCLC holdings

  • 995 field added

  • If you overlaid a record from OCLC, re-search by title to make sure you did not export an extra record by accident.

• BIB record, traced, named Special Collections (e.g. Harris, History of Science) ONLY

  • Add local heading; use “Verify”. Code locally, currently:

    • b 710 29 NAME |5RPB 

    • Example:

    • b 710 29 Katzoff Collection (Brown University)|5RPB

• ITEM record 

  • location checked and edited if needed; check for “n” note

  • status changed to correct code

    • All Annex/Annex Hay going on carts: h (available soon)

    • Everything going to bindery: h (available soon) (note: previous practice was “p” for paperbacks)

  • I Type (loan period) checked and edited if needed

  • volume notes added/edited if needed

  • message notes added/edited if needed

  • Item copy # makes sense (usually 1 or 2)

  • any other notes checked/added/edited as appropriate

Most common locations (print) (THERE ARE EXCEPTIONS)

Evaluating Existing OCLC Copy

Matching to Item-in-Hand

Bibliographic record matches item in hand, or matches within When to Input a New Record guidelines. Check: :

• Format (print/electronic/large print etc) [fields: fixed fields, 006, 007, 250]. Format must match.

• Publisher: at least one publisher on item in hand is represented on the bibliographic record and vice versa [fields: 260, 264]

• Edition: no discrepancy between item and bib record [fields: 250, notes]

• Date: at least one date on the item matches item in hand and vice versa [fields: 260, 264, Dates]

• Physical characteristics (pagination, dimensions) [fields: 300]

• Language of content matches language of content of item [fields: Lang, 041]

• Standard numbers other than UPC on the item in hand are in the bib record (ISBN, EAN, ISMN) [fields: 020, 024, 028]

Basic Quality Control (bare minimum)

• English-language record (040 $b eng; or, 040 $b with no other code; or, no 040 $b but notes are in English). If not English-language record found; do not use a foreign-language record.

• LC call number present in 050 or 090

• Correct nonfiling indicator in field 245

• Contains 007 for media-primary resource (e.g. CD, DVD)

• Nonfiction works contain at least one LC subject heading (2nd indicator=0 in fields 600, 610, 611, 630, 650, or 651)

• Authorized access points match correct entity in authority file, or if not in authority file, do not represent a conflict with existing AAP. 

• Desc: accept any code; RDA not necessary

Editing OCLC Master Records

When to edit existing record (generally)

Record lacks any of the following:

• LC-style class number (050) (for items Brown classes in LC)

  • Add 050#4

• At least one LC subject heading for nonfiction print resource or music resource

  • Add if missing

Errors affecting access and discovery:

• Missing 007 for media-primary resource (e.g. CD, DVD)

  • Add; also add 006 for computer files

• Incorrect nonfiling indicator in field 245

  • Fix

• Authorized access point is for incorrect entity (e.g., “Adams, John” vs “Adams, John, 1947-”) 

  • Correct and control (if NAR); or change to avoid conflict (if no NAR)

• Authorized access point contains incorrect form of heading (with particular attention to series, subordinate bodies, and manuscripts). 

When not to edit…

• Do not edit a record simple to change descriptive portion to RDA and/or ISBD

• Do not edit solely to add RDA 33x fields

Creating OCLC Master records: When to create a new record

No English-language (040$b eng) record matching item in hand. Match points include publisher, edition, format, physical description. Use cataloger’s judgment for print-on-demand items where only difference is printing date.

Creating a new record

• Method 1: Derive from existing record. Useful for alternate edition or format, or when foreign-language record exists.

• Method 2: Derive from constant data. Useful when no similar record exists, or easier to copy-paste than to edit.