LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Advertising

Ad*Access
"Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955."
Ad*Access: Beauty & Hygiene
US and Canadian advertisements from 1911 to 1956. From Duke University Libraries.
Ads of the World
Site that features advertising campaigns from around the world. Part of the Clio Awards Network.
The Advertising Archives
Collections of historical ads from pre-1900 to the 2010s. In order to view large size images, you must create an account.
AdViews
"Digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s." From the Internet Archive.
American Package Museum
"The primary objective of this website is to preserve and display specimens of American package design from the early decades of the 20th century."
Calisphere: Advertising
Digital collection of images from California libraries.
Early Advertising Collection
American and European printed advertisements from 1790 to 1910, the majority of which are trade cards. From the TriCollege Libraries (Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore)
Early Advertising of the West, 1867-1918
"Consists of over 450 print advertisements published in local magazines, city directories, and theater pamphlets from 1867 to 1918." From University of Washington Libraries.
Early Automobile Companies Ephemera Collection
Contains materials dating between 1910 and 1932, and consists of published advertising and marketing brochures, maps, guides and general information about automobiles. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
"Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States."
Fingerman Collection of Ephemera
Collection consists of mixed-format ephemera from various endeavors within American culture, primarily the manufacturing and selling of products or services. From Hagley Museum & Library.
Gender Ads Project
A website for the consideration of the intersections of gender and (print) advertising. Ads are organized into categories.
Geography of Slavery
Contains more than 4,000 advertisements for runaway slaves and indentured servants, drawn from newspapers in Virginia and Maryland.
Google Books List of Digitized Magazines
Google has digitized many popular magazines and made available online. This is an alphabetical list. To browse the entire run of a magazine, click on one of these links to see a single issue, then click on "Browse all issues" in the left side menu that appears.
International Advertising & Design Database.
"The not for profit foundation the International Advertising & Design DataBase was founded in the Netherlands in 2014."
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Medicine and Madison Avenue
"About 600 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States."
NLM Images from the History of Medicine
IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
Patent Medicine Trade Cards
"Small, colorfully illustrated advertising cards touting a particular medicine and its many cures." From UCLA.
Philip Morris USA Inc. Advertising Archive
More than 55,000 color images of tobacco advertisements, dating back to 1909.
American Women: Resources from the Prints & Photographs Collection
Library of Congress collection.
Present & Correct blog: Drink Labels from the DDR
Blog entry about drink labels from East Germany.
Rhode Island School of Design Vintage Advertisements
RISD Library Picture Collection vintage advertisement clippings from Ladies Home Journal, Life Magazine and more, 1930-1950's. Predominately vintage cereal and Coca-Cola advertisements. Available through JSTOR.
Selling Smoke: Tobacco Advertising and Anti-Smoking Campaigns
Online exhibition from Yale University Library.
Shields Trade Card & Advertising Collection
From Miami University Libraries.
Trade Cards: An Illustrated History
Highlights from the Waxman Collection of Cornell University.
University of Alabama Center for the Study of Tobacco and Society
Themed collections of tobacco related materials.
VADS: Museum of Domestic Design and Architecture (MoDA), Middlesex University
"The collections engage with design histories including the furnishing of 'ordinary' homes of the early and mid-twentieth century, the design process of commercial wallpaper and textiles for the home and inter-war suburbia."
Vintage Ad Browser
Collection of print ads organized by theme and keyword-searchable. Also searchable by color. Bibliographic information is not included, but each image includes a link to its source.
Will Connell Papers: Advertising Photographs
Works from the 1920s and 30s. From UCLA.
William Van Duyn Tobacco Advertisement Collection
Finding aid from Yale University Libraries.
You Are What You Drive!
"Identities for sale in 20th century print car advertisements." From the Canada Science and Technology Museum.
Z. Taylor Vinson Collection of Transportation Ephemera
Selection from collection in the Hagley Museum & Library.

Kurz & Allison. Advertisement for the J. M. Brunswick & Blake Company. 1880s. Public domain..

Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

Advertisements