LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: French Art

French Art

Duchamp Research Portal
Platform that aggregates digitized archival holdings and museum collections from the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Association Marcel Duchamp, and the Centre Georges Pompidou.
French Commune
Twenty-one photographs from the Franco-Prussian War and French Civil War. From Boston Athenaeum.
French Political Campaign Posters
From UC Berkeley Library.
French Revolution Digital Archive
Collaboration of Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Images may be freely used for non-commercial purposes with attribution. Commercial use may be licensed for a fee.
French Revolution Images
"French Revolution Images: Iconography from the collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France provides access to the most complete searchable digital archive of French Revolution images available." From Stanford University Libraries.
French Satire Journals
"Caricatures and Satire Journals from the 19th and early 20th century." Digitized journals.
French War Posters from the First World War
From UC Berkeley Library.
French War Posters from the Second World War
From UC Berkeley Library.
French World War I Posters
Small collection from the University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.
Girodet: Romantic Rebel
Website accompanying exhibition at the Art Institute of Chicago.
Israel Silvestre et ses Descendants
Site compiling the work of the French printmaker and his family, along with biographical and other information.
La Caricature (1830-1835)
Plates from the satirical French weekly. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
La Caricature (1880-1893, 1899)
Plates from the satirical French weekly. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
Le Carnet de Villard de Honnecourt
Digitized version of the 13th century manuscript, from the Bibliotheque Nationale.
Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité: Exploring the French Revolution
Contains more than 600 primary documents. Collaboration between George Mason University and City University of New York.
Monet Was Here
National Gallery and Google Arts & Culture site uses Google Earth to visit places where Monet painted.
The Paintings, Watercolors and Drawings of Paul Cezanne
Online catalogue raisonné.
Rhode Island School of Design: La Vie Parisienne
French weekly magazine founded in Paris in 1863 and was published without interruption until 1970. Available through JSTOR.
Rosa Bonheur Correspondence
Correspondence written by and regarding the prominent 19th century French artist. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.
Rose and Chess
14th century French Manuscripts of "Le Roman de la Rose" and "Le Jeu des Echecs Moralisé," formerly bound together and now reunited by the University of Chicago.
The Siege and Commune of Paris, 1870-1871
Includes original photographs, caricatures, posters, etchings, lithographs, books, newspapers, manuscripts and realia. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.

Jehan Pucelle. Hours of Jeanne d'Evreux. Manuscript, 1324-1328. Cloisters, New York. Public Domain.