LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: British Isles &amp; Ireland

British Isles & Ireland

Agas Map of Early Modern London
Interactive version of 1561 map of London.
AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1850-1950
Includes approximately 3000 entries and is constantly being updated and revised.
Archiseek
Site dedicated but not limited to Irish architecture.
Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950
Includes approximately 3,000 entries and is continually being updated. From AHRnet.
British Heritage
Site for stately homes of Britain.
Charles Woolf Slide Collection
Collection of 13,500 color slides of Cornish life 1852-1981. From the University of Exeter through JSTOR.
Country Life Picture Library
Images of British country houses, gardens, and interiors, along with other architecture. Low resolution, watermarked images may be downloaded, higher resolution images must be purchased.
Devey Collection
Drawings and photographs relating to the work of the 19th Century architect George Devey. From University of Sheffield via JSTOR.
Dictionary of Scottish Architects
Searchable by architect or building.
Godfrey Bingley Photographic Archive
Photographs of British architecture and landscapes. From the University of Leeds via JSTOR.
Glasgow School of Art Archives and Collections
"Holdings illustrate the history of the institution and the development of its teaching practices since it was established as a UK Government School of Design in 1845."
Heritage Gateway
"Provides access to local and national records on the historic environment." Managed by Historic England.
Historic England
Searchable archive of historic photos, drawings, and reports.
Historic Houses
"Supporting Britain's historic houses, castles and gardens."
Irish Architectural Archive
"The Irish Architectural Archive was established in 1976 to collect and preserve material of every kind relating to the architecture of the entire island of Ireland, and make it available to the public." Includes a dictionary of Irish architects.
Landscape Histories from the Air
Aerial photography of Britain from 1945 to 2009.
London Transport Museum
Biographical information about artists and architects associated with the London Transport system.
National Inventory of Architectural Heritage (Ireland)
"The purpose of the NIAH is to identify, record, and evaluate the post-1700 architectural heritage of Ireland, uniformly and consistently as an aid in the protection and conservation of the built heritage."
National Trust Images
"inspirational photography to best show the diversity and historical range of places in the National Trust's care." Low resolution images may be downloaded. Higher resolutions must be purchased.
Paul Mellon Centre Photographic Archive
Over 100,000 photographs of British paintings, sculpture, architecture, decorative arts, sketchbooks, and exhibitions. More than 44,000 of the images are available for non-commercial re-use with a Creative Commons license.
Seventeenth Century London before the Great Fire
3D animated map. Created by students at De Montfort University.
Survey of Offa's Dyke and Wat's Dyke, 1925-1933
Taken as part of a survey by Cyril Fox. From the National Museum Wales via JSTOR.
Topographical Photographs of South Wales
Early 20th century (1899-1903) photographs of churches, castles and other ancient monuments of south Wales, taken by Roland E. Reynolds. From the National Museum Wales via JSTOR.
University of Wisconsin-Madison Arthur De Smet English Medieval Church Architecture
"The collections gathered here reflect the work of Professor Arthur De Smet, his love of photography and Medieval church architecture in England. They provide overview images of both the exteriors and interiors of cathedrals and parish churches."

Horace Walpole. Strawberry Hill, Twickenham. 18th century. Photo by David Nicholls via Creative Commons license 2.0.