John Jacob Omenhausser, was a Confederate soldier imprisoned at the Union camp at Pt. Lookout, Maryland from June 1864 to July 1865. Here in this sketchbook, he documents prison life in vibrant watercolor drawings. Available through JSTOR.
"Includes a small but significant selection of letters, photographs, pictorial envelopes, and other primary sources from the Hagley Library connected to the Civil War."
Collection focuses on the Revolution period and key political and military men, and is particularly strong in photography. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.
Frontline photographs and images portraying life around the world during World War II. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.
Images depicting the conditions in North Africa, Italy/Southern France, and Germany from 1943 to 1945. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.
Collection of Napoleonic satirical prints produced between 1792 and 1829 from Germany, Britain, France, Holland, Russia, by such noted artists as James Gillray and George Cruikshank. Most have also been archived in Luna Insight.
Slides developed during World War II as a training tool, for top-side battle-station personnel on board ship and for all aircraft personnel, by the US Navy. From Grand Valley State University via JSTOR.
Collection of 90 images documenting the beginning of World War II in Poland taken by American photojournalist Harrison Forman. From University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.
170,000 photographs taken by the U. S. Farm Security Administration and the Office of War Information from 1935 to 1945. Most but not necessarily all are in the public domain and freely available.
Collection of photographs by Ronald Oakes, who served in the U.S. Marine Corps during the Vietnam War, and in the U.S. National Guard in the Iraq War. From Grand Valley State University via JSTOR.
Includes original photographs, caricatures, posters, etchings, lithographs, books, newspapers, manuscripts and realia. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
"This collection comprises camp equipment, weaponry and uniforms used on the homefront and the battlefield, with a focus on the Illinois experience." From Chicago Public Library.
This Collection holds a set of almost 300 stereo views, illustrating World War I in all its facets including battlefields, soldiers, and activities on the home front. From Xavier University of Louisiana via JSTOR.
"World War I Military Portraits is comprised of more than 32,000 photographs, typewritten volumes, and service records." From Milwaukee Public Library.
