LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Painting

Painting

Gems on Canvas: PIgments Historically Sourced from Gem Materials
Essay from Gemological Institute of America.
Lebanese Aboard the Titanic - Paintings Project
Assembled by the The Lebanese Research Center for Migration and Diaspora Studies (LERC) at Notre Dame University-Louaize to commemorate the Lebanese emigrants who were aboard the Titanic. Available through JSTOR.
Minassian Collection of Persian, Mughal, and Indian Miniature Paintings
Includes, among other things, many illustrations from the classical Persian text, Shahnama of Ferdowsi.
Minna R. Fernald Collection of Paintings of Florida Wildflowers
Collaborative collection with the Florida Museum of Natural History at the University of Florida. Available via JSTOR.

Murals in Providence
Documentation from 2017 Urban Studies bus tour led by Brown Professor Dietrich Neumann.

Nancy Tovar Murals of East L.A. Collection
Photographic documentation taken by Tovar of the murals. From UCLA.
Painted Grave Stelai of Demetrias Pagasai
Images of and contextual information on Greek stelai from the Hellenistic period in the Athanasakeion Archaeological Museum of Volos. From Hollins University via JSTOR.
Philadelphia Museum of Art: American Watercolors
Research portal for the study of American watercolors. This site provides resources on watercolor societies from the 19th and 20th centuries in New York City, Philadelphia, and Boston.
Stephen Mopope Paintings of Seven Native American Subjects
Collection contains 7 gouache paintings created by Kiowa artist Mopope between 1929-1933. From Brown Digital Repository.

Thomas Cole. View from Mount Holyoke, Massachusetts, after a Thunderstorm -- the Oxbow. Oil on canvas, 1836. Metropolitan Museum of Art. Public domain.