LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: LGBTQ+

LGBTQ+

Advocate: Artist Spotlight
Curated section dealing with LGBT contemporary artists.
AIDS Poster Collection
Digitized posters about AIDS from 44 countries. From the UCLA Library.
Database of Diverse Databases
This resource links out to databases promoting diverse practitioners in their fields. Includes databases such as Cartoonists of Color, Female Experts on Japan & the Koreas, Queer & Trans Therapists of Color Network, and much more.
Gay and Lesbian History
Digitized collections from the New York Public Library.
The Gay Artists Archive
A personal collection of images related to gay and homoerotic art curated by artist John Coulthart.
Lesbian Art History in Europe, 1850-1950
Essay on Feminine Moments -- Queer Feminist Art Worldwide site.
Leslie-Lohmann Museum of Art Collections
Search interface. "The Leslie-Lohman Museum of Art provides a platform for artistic exploration through multi-faceted queer perspectives."
LGBT Materials in the New York Public Library
The archive of the International Gay Information Center, along with other related archives donated to the library. Contains documents, photographs, art, postcards, and much more.
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
"The largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world." Located at University of Southern California Libraries.
Online Archive of California: LGBT Collections
Image and text collections.
Postcards of Female and Male Impersonators and Cross-Dressing
Covers Europe and the United States from 1900-1931. From Cornell Library.
Wikipedia List of Gay Artists with Links
Artists who publicly identify themselves, or who have been reliably identified, as gay men.
Wikipedia List of Lesbian Artists with Links
This page has subheadings for other groups such as Lesbian Artists, Queer Artists, etc.

Unknown artists. Graffiti Alley, Baltimore. 2018. Photo by Elvert Barnes via Creative Commons license 2.0.