Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

From the collection of Northwestern University Libraries.

From the University of Chicago.

Blog entry from Vox.

Interactive version of 1561 map of London.

Contains over 19,000 maps. From the University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.

Resource for maps and site specific research materials promotes cartography, historical geography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies through innovative and collaborative research, teaching, and community outreach activities.

Digitized maps of the world from Germany.

Oer 35,000 topographic, cadastral, aeronautical, bathymetric, thematic and tourist maps. The collection has special emphasis on Asia, Australia and the Pacific. The Antique section of the collection covers maps, views and plans from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries and includes the Kessler Collection. From Australian National University via JSTOR.

From the University of Chicago.

Includes Sanborn Maps, aerial photographs, plat books, and architectural drawings. Available via JSTOR.

From Nashville Public Library.

Digital version of Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright’s Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, first published in 1932. This online edition reproduces all of the atlas’s nearly 700 maps. University of Richmond Digital Scholarship Lab.

Sheet maps from the University of Chicago.

Online catalog and digitized images from the National Archives.

From the University of Chicago.

From the University of Chicago.

Sheet maps from the University of Chicago.

Maps focusing on population density, ethnicity, housing, and living standards. From the University of Chicago.

Urban design and urban planning for cities around the world from the 16th century to the present. From Harvard Digital Collections.

"Contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania."

Mainly Caribbean-related historical maps from Dloc, the Digital Library of the Caribbean. See several types listed on the page.

From the University of Chicago.

More than 1250 historical maps form Washington State University Libraries.

Maps of China, Japan, Korea, Manchuria, and other areas in East Asia produced between 1800 and 1960s. From UCLA.

From the University of Chicago.

From the University of Chicago.

Published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945. From Texas A&M University Libraries.

Topographic 1:25,000 scale maps of pre-WWII Germany.

From the University of Chicago.

Maps of New Hampshire from Dartmouth Library Collections.

Digitized maps from Dartmouth College Library.

Featuring 2767 images from Harvard's collections.

Focus on historical maps of California, Los Angeles County , and the city of Los Angeles, 1860-1950. From UCLA.

From Brown University Rockefeller Library’s East Asian Collection.

Maps from the collection of Texas A&M University Libraries.

Old site from Rutgers University but maps are still viewable.

"Ajoint project of the Historic Cities Center of the Department of Geography, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Jewish National and University Library." Contains maps, literature, documents, books and more.

Free online pdf version of the first three volumes of this set published by the University of Chicago Press.

Contains surveyors' field books, plat maps and other maps from Southern California counties, spanning the years from 1855 to 1968. From Loyola Marymount University via JSTOR.

Images from Stokes, I. N. Phelps. The iconography of Manhattan Island, 1498-1909. Vols. 1-6. New York : Robert H. Dodd, 1915-1928.

From Indiana University Libraries.

From UC Berkeley Library.

A large collection of pre-20th (and primarily pre-19th) century maps that focus on the colonial period in the western hemisphere, held here at Brown University.

From collection of the University of Chicago.

Collection from University of Chicago.

"The maps roughly illustrate the history of urban rail transit between the 1860s and the 1920s." From University of Chicago.

"The collection of Caribbean maps consist of ca. 300 printed and hand-drawn maps (some of them in more sheets) and some atlases from the sixteenth to twentieth century of Central America and the Caribbean in general and the Netherlands Antilles in particular."

An enormous collection of historical maps, available at different resolutions.

Digitized works focus on Los Angeles and the West.

Growing digital collection of maps of all types.

Includes maps of Philadelphia and beyond.

Digitized collections divided into categories.

Works ranging in date from the 15th to the 21st centuries.

Maps covering the world, but especially including the state of Mississippi.

Map attempting to represent the language, social, or nation groups of Aboriginal Australia. From the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies.

Ranges from ca. 1516-1970. From UCLA.

Collection from the Cleveland Public Library, available via JSTOR.

Images on Wikipedia page.

19th and Early 20th Century maps of Vermont and the surrounding region. Available through JSTOR.

From the Milwaukee Public Library.

High-resolution images of maps relating primarily to Scotland, from 1560 to 1964.

Website that identifies indigenous territories around the world. Created by a Canadian Indigenous-led non-profit organization.

Complements the Granite State in Maps collections. Covers years 1776 to 2006, from Dartmouth Library Collections.

20,000 historical maps in the public domain, digitized in high resolution and available for free download for any purpose.

Maintained by the Boston Public Library, search for digitized historic maps from their collection and those of a dozen partner institutions.

"Collection consists of hundreds of pamphlet maps of various places around the world." From UCLA.

The Atlas provides a synoptic view (although certainly incomplete) of Inuit mobility and occupancy of Arctic waters, coasts and lands, including its icescapes, as documented in written historical records (maps of trails and place names).

Maps from the University of Chicago.

An enormous collection of contemporary and recent historical maps sorted by geography and theme. From the University of Texas at Austin.

"More than 800 ​ maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information." From Cornell Library.

"Maps for tracking human activity and scientific progress on a global scale." Interesting and sometimes beautiful visualizations.

Mostly zoning or land-use maps from the University of Chicago.

Mainly Soviet Red Army maps. From Indiana University Libraries.

Searchable database of over 18,000 items. Downloadable as tiffs and zoomable on screen.

"4,445 maps by the Sanborn Map Company depicting commercial, industrial, and residential areas for 133 municipalities." From the Digital Library of Georgia.

From Dartmouth Library Collections.

From the University of South Carolina Libraries.

From University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.

Maps from John Senex's atlas "The Universal Geographer." From Washington State University Libraries.

Collection of published maps from UCLA.

The first map of Texas printed in the United States.

"his collection contains the 1908, 1924, and 1938 Insurance Atlases of Syracuse NY published by G.M. Hopkins and Co. of Philadelphia, PA and the 1892 Insurance Atlas of Syracuse NY by J.W. Vose & Company." From Syracuse University Libraries.

Project to map the archaeological resources in Thebes, with emphasis on the Valley of the Kings.

Over 1,000 historical maps and photographs of Tibet. From the University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.

Available from the British Library on Flickr Commons. Includes 40,000 maps, architectural drawings, and more. All are in the public domain and free to use. To search the collection, copy its main tag into the search box and add your specific search terms.

Images on Wikipedia page. Highly detailed - one can zoom in to see individual buildings.

"An endeavor of the map collection at the University of Iowa." Tumblr featuring historical maps.

Includes maps going back to 1884, can be used to track city growth.

"Several hundred sheet maps representing Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, New York, Virginia, West Virginia, and Washington, D.C.; and 4 atlases of the state of Delaware. The digitized maps are from the 17th through 20th centuries." Artstor Public Collection.

Set of maps produced between 1913 and 1928.

Map series of Atlanta from the late 1930s. From Georgia Tech.

Emphasizes North America, the Pacific Northwest, and exploration in this region from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. From the University of Washington via JSTOR.

From UC Berkeley Library.

Blog about the map collections in the Library of Congress.