Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

Digitized materials from the collections.

The double elephant folio from the Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library.

From Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library.

"This collection contains digital images of one of 6 documented manuscript copies of the work by Leonhardt Baldner...a collection of watercolor drawings." Note: Click on each record to see all the images.

Site from Cornell University Libraries.

Watercolors from UC Berkeley Library.

Works of art from the early 1800s to the mid-1900s from Harvard Digital Collections.

Over 3,000 images from the New York Public Library.

Gorgeously displayed insect collections. Part of the Google Cultural Institute.

Work by Genevieve Estelle Jones. From the Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library.

Works by 19th century self-taught botanical painter. From Boston Athenaeum.

Illustrations of fishes and miscellaneous vertebrates and invertebrates drawn by Louis Agassiz’s personal artist, Jacques Burkhardt. From Harvard Digital Collections.

Audubon Society site offering free high resolution images of the prints from this work.

Search interface to the collections. Located in Jackson, Wyoming.

Many collections divided into categories.

Photography covering many worldwide regions, including Australia. Available through JSTOR.

A collection of micro and macro imagery describing forms in nature including landforms, minerals, aquatic and terrestrial animal and plant life, insects, cellular structures and skeletal segments from the Edna W. Lawrence Nature Lab. Available through JSTOR.

Over 800 digitized photographic slides of freshwater fishes of Virginia. Available via JSTOR.

Two portfolios published in the 1920s using the pochoir technique. From NC State.

770 hand-tinted glass plate photographs of birds produced by Herbert Keightley Job from 1896-1925. Available through JSTOR.

"Comprises digital images drawn from a variety of historical sources and reveals how nonhuman primates have been depicted over time. This collection includes examples of fine art, printed illustration, and sculpture, as well as other media."

"Digitized from the classic works of the German veterinary anatomists, Wilhelm Ellenberger and Hermann Baum, and medical illustrator, Hermann Dittrich." Published in 1898 and 1911 through 1925, all entitled Handbuch der Anatomie der Tiere für Künstler. Public domain images from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.