Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

Interactive version of 1561 map of London.

"The online home for every public art collection in the UK." Consolidated search of over 3200 venues.

From UC Berkeley Library.

Open access journal published by the Paul Mellon Center for Studies in British Art, London, and the Yale Center for British Art, New Haven.

Older site with articles about British colonization and art.

Includes virtual books and online exhibitions.

Search interface for the collection. Public domain images may be used for non-commercial purposes with a Creative Commons license. Commercial use requires a license.

From UC Berkeley Library.

From UC Berkeley Library.

From UC Berkeley Library.

Photograph albums dating from ca. 1855-1890 from the family of Thomas Carlyle. Columbia University Libraries.

Collection of 13,500 color slides of Cornish life 1852-1981. From the University of Exeter through JSTOR.

Information about artists working in Cornwall.

Search interface for the collections.

Letters written by 19th and early 20th century artists. From UC Riverside via JSTOR.

Very old site but with useful information about Scottish photographers going back to 1839.

Research database of the exhibition catalogues of the Photographic Society, London.

Collection of portrait prints and illustrations relating to 17th century British history. From the University of Leicester via JSTOR.

Search interface for the collections at the University of Cambridge.

Search interface for the collections.

"Holdings illustrate the history of the institution and the development of its teaching practices since it was established as a UK Government School of Design in 1845."

Explores Moore's work in the Tate collections and includes additional research material.

Explores Moore's work in the Tate collections and includes additional research material.

Search interface for the collections.

Online exhibition from the Royal Collection Trust.

Consists of 19th century political cartoons addressing Irish political issues of the time from Irish and British publications. From Catholic University of America via JSTOR.

"The Lensmen Collection, licensed to Irish Photo Archive, is a unique collection of almost 3.5 million old Irish photos and historical images and offers a fascinating insight into Irish life over the last six decades." Irish historical images and documents available for licensing.

18th and 19th century embroidery patterns and fashion plates from the Lady's Magazine. From Cardiff University via JSTOR.

"Over 250,000 images of London from the collections at London Metropolitan Archives and Guildhall Art Gallery."

Biographical information about artists and architects associated with the London Transport system.

"A student publication by Charles Rennie Mackintosh and his contemporaries at the Glasgow School of Art."

Large photograph collection of Northern Ireland. Available through JSTOR.

"Authoritative study of sculptors, related businesses and trades."

Search interface for the collections.

High-resolution images of maps relating primarily to Scotland, from 1560 to 1964.

Search interface for the collections.

Over 100,000 photographs of British paintings, sculpture, architecture, decorative arts, sketchbooks, and exhibitions. More than 44,000 of the images are available for non-commercial re-use with a Creative Commons license.

Photographs taken in 19th century Wales. From the National Museum of Wales via JSTOR.

Permission must be obtained to reproduce images.

Search interface to full text past exhibition catalogues.

Images from the British Royal Collections. Smaller sizes may be downloaded. Contact the collection for high res images.

Eclectic mix collected by author John Ruskin. Maintained and displayed by the Museums Sheffield.

Photographs, negatives, handbills, programmes and other items of ephemera relating to George Sanger's circus and the Hall by the Sea. From University of Sheffield via JSTOR.

Visual Collections of the Science Museum, Media Museum and Railway Museum.

Scrapbook maintained by 19th century British woman. From Birkbeck, University of London via JSTOR.

3D animated map. Created by students at De Montfort University.

Banners that were carried in marches, protests and demonstrations. From Swansea University via JSTOR.

Biographical information and examples of works by artists working in Suffolk.

Previously unpublished British artists' materials.

Search interface for the collections and information about the artists.

Collection of 184 British satirical prints dating from the eighteenth to nineteenth centuries in collections of Trinity College, Hartford. Available via JSTOR.

"The Longridge Ceramics Collection has been called the finest private collection of British delft and slipware in the world. Over 500 ceramic objects are presented here."

Great Britain's National Survey of Medieval Stained Glass.

"Between 1984 and 1990, the Drew Gallery in Canterbury instigated a series of ground breaking temporary art exhibitions, installed in various locations around the city of Canterbury."

"This collection includes paintings, drawings and collages by Elaine Thomas from 1979 to 2004, which are featured in her publication 'Adopting a stance' (2004)."

"The collection is made up of work by British artists. The majority of the works are original prints and paintings with smaller numbers of drawings, sculpture, glass, textiles and ceramics."

Archive of images of East London taken by photographer Paul Trevor.

"A prototype for a national web-based collection of work by staff and students of UK Higher Education institutions who have made a significant contribution to UK fine art education through practice." Mid-19th century to the present.

"On-line inventory of pre-1900 Continental European oil paintings in the UK's public collections."

Catalogue of Oxford University's portrait collection.

Archive related to 1950s British art Peter King.

Information about over 9000 public sculptures and monuments in Britain.

"A ollection of images of work produced at the College from 1960 to 2002 in the fields of fine and applied art, design and communications."

Over one thousand works that represent significant developments in British painting from the middle years of the previous century to the present."

Late medieval painted sculpture of the reredos of St. Cuthbert's.

Archive of the "Irish printmaker [whose] work has been likened to the pop-art movements of the 1970s."

Archive of the artist and former Principal of Falmouth School of Art.

Search interface for the collections.

"Explore short articles and examine scrapbooks, political pamphlets, photographs and posters to discover how suffragists and suffragettes campaigned for this democratic right." From the British Library.

Reconstruction of Sir Joshua Reynolds retrospective attended by Jane Austen in 1813, as well as the Shakespeare Gallery in 1796.

"The Blake Archive was conceived as an international public resource that would provide unified access to major works of visual and literary art."

From the New York Public Library.

Selection of banners created between c.1908 and c.1920 in the collection of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Available through JSTOR.

Public domain works available freely in high resolution files. May be used for any application without obtaining permission.