Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

Youtube video by Phillip Scott Johnson. Beautiful and mesmerizing!

Library of Congress collection.

Items documenting the experience of women in the Southwest, ca. 1840s-1980s. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.

Profiles of women artists throughout history from the National Museum of Women in the Arts.

Plates from Klinger, Julius. Das Weib im modernen Ornament [Woman in Modern Ornament]: ein Vorlagenwerk fur alle Gebriete des Kunstgewerbes Teil I. Berlin: Albert Brinitzer, Verlag fur Freie und Angewandte Kunst, [1902]. From Minneapolis College of Art and Design via JSTOR.

"Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages." From the University of Iowa Libraries.

Search on n.paradoxa website.

Subject guide to key topics in feminism as related to contemporary art.

Exhibition on Google Arts & Culture site of images from the National Portrait Gallery.

19th and 20th photographs, includes many relating to women and education. From Miami University Libraries.

A website for the consideration of the intersections of gender and (print) advertising. Ads are organized into categories.

Museum website.

Edited transcript of oral history interview with Miriam Schapiro, conducted by Ruth Bowman.

Consists of American and European postcards relating to the nursing profession. From Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries.

Magazine published in Shanghai from 1931-1937. From Columbia University Libraries.

Collection documents state and national efforts to achieve equality for women. From Georgia State.

This collection includes over 100 examples from the Library’s 19th Century French Sheet Music Collection of over 19,000 pieces, ranging from the 1820s to the early 1900s. The examples highlight both women’s work and the cultural work about women in the popular song industry of the 19th century France. From McGill University via JSTOR.

"A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE."

2010 introduction edited by Katy Deepwell.

Collection from the Library of Congress.

Search interface for collection.

Information about contemporary Croatian, Latvian, Polish, and Slovenian women artists.

Photographs taken by Dorothea Lange between 1931 and 1956.

"Collection of profiles of fifty women who have made important contributions to American architecture." All were born before 1940.

Finding aid from the Archives of American Art.

"Consists of over 1,300 images and scanned texts representing objects and printed matter that reflect the lives of women from the mid 1800s through the mid 1900s."

"Olakh is a feminist organization based in Vadodara, Gujarat, India. This archive includes not only political pamphlets and books but also a one of a kind collection of political songs, tapes of street plays, political posters, artwork, and poetry collected by Olakh from feminist groups around the nation."

"The poster collection represented in this archive is physically located in the offices of the feminist organization, Sahiyar, located at Maharaja Sayajirao University in Baroda, Gujarat."

Documentary photographs of more than 100,000 people gathered at the Wisconsin State Capitol, as part of the Madison Women's March, one of 652 sister marches across the U.S.

Online exhibition from Princeton University Library.

Search interface for the collections.

Search interface for the collection.

Exhibition on Google Arts & Culture site with images from the National Portrait Gallery.

"Explore short articles and examine scrapbooks, political pamphlets, photographs and posters to discover how suffragists and suffragettes campaigned for this democratic right." From the British Library.

"The mission of the Women’s Caucus for Art is to create community through art, education, and social activism."

"This digital collection contains a selection of items from the Hagley Library documenting 19th century American women's participation in household handicrafts."

Selection of banners created between c.1908 and c.1920 in the collection of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Available through JSTOR.

"Our mission is to operate and maintain an artists’ workspace that encourages the voice and vision of individual women-identified artists."

Collection of primary source material from the Scripps College Library, available through JSTOR.

"Web directory to U.S. archival collections of primary source materials by and about women visual artists active in the U.S. since 1945." From Rutgers University.

"We focus on women’s unique perspective in ecological and social justice art." Includes a directory of artists.

Columbia University site about women who worked in all areas of film production during the Silent Era.

"An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression." From the Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America at Harvard.