Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

The complete list of "degenerate art" exhibited by the Nazis in 1937. Digitized by the Victoria & Albert Museum.

Association of American Editorial Cartoonists cartoons dating from 1782 to 1980, the majority from the 1960s and '70s. From University of Southern Mississippi.

Published in 1975-1977 by the South African government to defend Apartheid. From UCLA.

Exhibition from the National Portrait Gallery

Nineteen Soviet political posters produced in the early 1930s. From the University of Chicago.

From UC Berkeley Library.

Collection of political memorabilia going back to the 18th century.

From UC Berkeley Library.

"French Revolution Images: Iconography from the collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France provides access to the most complete searchable digital archive of French Revolution images available." From Stanford University Libraries.

American presidential and political memorabilia, 1833-2017. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.

Collections of the US House of Representatives.

Consists of 19th century political cartoons addressing Irish political issues of the time from Irish and British publications. From Catholic University of America via JSTOR.

"Examples from 1940-1975, mostly published in the Nashville Banner newspaper, concerning World War II, Vietnam, local and presidential politics." From Nashville Public Library.

Gifts given to President John F. Kennedy and the First Family by foreign heads of state during the Kennedy administration.

Collection from the Kennedy administration.

The collection comprises an assortment of printed materials intended for broad public distribution in a variety of formats.

Includes photographs, engravings, and popular prints.

Illustrated envelopes with themes relating to Lincoln.

"The collection contains a variety of musical genres such as dance music, marches, hymns, and ballads." From Boston Athenaeum.

Sheet music from the McLellan Lincoln Collection at the Hay Library written between 1859 and 1923. Music about Lincoln ranging from popular song to compositions for orchestral performance.

Approximately 350 works created in Cuba from the revolution through the 2000s. From Wofford College via JSTOR.

Collection of Napoleonic satirical prints produced between 1792 and 1829 from Germany, Britain, France, Holland, Russia, by such noted artists as James Gillray and George Cruikshank. Most have also been archived in Luna Insight.

Collection from the Library of Congress.

Photographs taken during the 1970s and 1980s. From Albright College via JSTOR.

Online exhibit from the National Museum of American History.

From the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division.

Collection of nearly 400 buttons, many of them displaying a political message. From UConn via JSTOR.

Over 1500 buttons from the 20th and 21st centuries representing U.S. campaigns. From Harvard Digital Collections.

Gallery offering original cartoons but images may also be browsed online.

"This database consists of images of those posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, Pacifism, Sexual Freedom, Socialism, Women, and Youth/Student Protest." From the University of Michigan.

Collection of posters and memorabilia documenting the campaign and election of President Barack Obama. From Cornell Library.

From Indiana University Libraries.

3-d models of portraits from the National Portrait Gallery. Note conditions of CC license.

Historical Rhode Island election tickets (ballots), digitized and sourced from several archival collections around the state. From URI via JSTOR.

Political cartoons about Senator from West Virginia. From West Virginia University via JSTOR.

"These posters translate and re-imagine the ideology and the agenda of the Soviet Union for Armenian society." From UCLA.

Features examples from over forty countries with the earliest U.S. stickers from the Industrial Workers of the World dating to the 1910s. From St. Lawrence University via JSTOR.

Collection of 184 British satirical prints dating from the eighteenth to nineteenth centuries in collections of Trinity College, Hartford. Available via JSTOR.

Over 200 political posters from multiple countries. Collection of Claremont Colleges via JSTOR.

These posters were issued by agencies ranging from the Department of Agriculture to the Forest Service, the National Archives and Records Administration, the Department of Defense, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. From Central Washington University Libraries via JSTOR.

British prints: "spans the years 1508 to 1939, with some ephemera of the 1940s and 1950s and a separate collection of post-1960 additions. The collection is strongest in 19th and early 20th century ephemera, with significant holdings in the 18th century."

Search interface for the collections.

Search interface for the collection.

Soviet era posters from an exhibition at the David Winton Bell Gallery at Brown University.

Exhibition on Google Arts & Culture site with images from the National Portrait Gallery.

"Explore short articles and examine scrapbooks, political pamphlets, photographs and posters to discover how suffragists and suffragettes campaigned for this democratic right." From the British Library.

Selection of banners created between c.1908 and c.1920 in the collection of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Available through JSTOR.