LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Canadian Art

Canadian Art

Albert Gilles Copper Art & Museum
Museum of Quebecois metal craftsmen, the Gilles family.
Artefacts Canada
Database containing more than four million object records and one million images from Canadian museums.
Artisans de Vitrail / Glass Artisans
Modern stained glass artists in Quebec.
Artists in Canada
Information about contemporary artists.
Barren Lands Collection
From University of Toronto. Documents exploratory surveys of the Barren Lands region west of Hudson Bay.
BGL: Quebec City Art Collective
Contemporary installation artists.
Canadian Art
Magazine published by the Canadian Art Foundation. At least some of the articles are open access.
Canadian Copyright Collection at the British Library
Wikimedia page with public domain images.
Canadian Online Art Book Project
"A growing digital library of books–all original works commissioned by the Art Canada Institute–by the country’s leading art experts on artists who have made a critical contribution to the evolution of the nation’s art history."
Canadian War Posters from the First and Second World Wars
From UC Berkeley Library.
Collection Loto-Québec
"One of the largest corporate collections in Québec, brings together almost 5,000 works of art created by more than 1,200 artists."
Conseil des Artistes Québécois
Non-profit organization bringing together Québécois artists.
Conseil des Metiers d'Art du Quebec / Quebec Craft Council
Contemporary crafts of Quebec.
Galerie d'Art Cosner
Commercial gallery specializing in Canadian works of art.
Glenbow Museum
"Glenbow’s art collection is focused on artists from Calgary, Alberta and the rest of Canada (about two thirds of the collection) with the remaining third of the collection by international artists)." Includes one of the largest indigenous collections in Canada.
L'Art des Artisans du Quebec
Contemporary Quebecois artisans.
Lacerte Art Contemporain
Commercial gallery exhibiting contemporary Québécois art.
McMichael Canadian Art Collection
"The largest publicly funded art gallery in Canada that focuses exclusively on Canadian and Indigenous art, both historical and contemporary."
Montreal Museum of Fine Arts: Quebec and Canadian Art
Search interface for the collections.
Musee National des Beaux-Arts du Quebec
Search interface for the collections.
National Gallery of Canada
Search interface for the collections.
North America: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints
Items from the U.S. Northeast, Southeast, Midwest and Canada. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.
Picturing Canada
"A series of photographs from the Canadian Copyright Collection held at the British Library." Images uploaded to Wikimedia.
Pitseolak Ashoona: Life and Work
Free online book by Christine Lalonde about the 20th century Inuit artist. From the Art Canada Institute.
Reseau Art Actuel
"A national advocacy organization whose mandate is to support, bring together, represent, and promote Quebec’s artist-run centres."

Thomas Davies. A View of Montreal in Canada, taken from Isle St. Helena in 1762. National Gallery of Canada, Public Domain.