LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Provenance

Provenance

Conducting Provenance Research
Subject guide from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
Documenting Art Collections in Gilded Age New York
Digital facsimiles and an online exhibition relating to private art collections in New York at the turn of the 20th century.
The Frick Collection Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America
"A pioneering resource created to help researchers locate primary source material about American art collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records."

Getty Provenance Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art with references to original primary source material.
Consists of six databases of information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art, gathered from sales catalogues, archival records, and museum files. Supplies a wealth of data drawn from British, French, and Netherlandish art sales catalogues of the nineteenth century and documents supplied by major European archives. [This resource is publicly accessible.]

A Guide to Provenance Research at the Archives of American Art
"Researchers can use the Archives’ collections to analyze shifts in collecting tastes and market variations over many decades of the 20th century, as well as compare European and American viewpoints."
Kress Collection Digital Archive
Encompasses more than 3,000 works of European art collected by Samuel H. Kress and now dispersed throughout the US. A project of the National Gallery of Arts.

Frans Francken II and David Teniers II. Interior of a Picture Gallery. Oil painting, ca.1615 and 1650. Courtauld Galleries. Public domain.