LibGuides: Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web: Russian &amp; Eastern European Art

Russian & Eastern European Art

Albanian Photographic and Graphic Arts Collection
Over 18,000 works from UCLA.
Alexander Palace Time Machine
The home of the last Tsar -- Romanov and Russian history.
Americans in the Land of Lenin: Documentary Photographs of Early Soviet Russia
750 photographs of every-day life in the Soviet Union (1919-1921 and 1930). Duke University site.
Armenian Manuscripts
" The collection includes manuscripts of ecclesiastical character such as gospels, psalters, menologia, and ritual books, as well as theological and philosophical works, medical treatises, and anthologies of poetry." From UCLA.
Arton Foundation
Non-profit researching and exhibiting Polish art of the 1970s.
Bakwin Collection of Soviet Posters
Nineteen Soviet political posters produced in the early 1930s. From the University of Chicago.
The Codex Gigas
"Devil's Bible" at the University of Stockholm. Every page digitized.
Czech Photography
Works collected by art dealers Anne and Jacques Baruch and in the collection of the Museum of Contemporary Photography at Columbia College, Chicago.
Fine Arts in Hungary
"Dedicated to fine arts in Hungary from the beginnings in the Romanesque period up to the mid 20th century." Searchable and includes images.
Futurist Publications from the State Public Historical Library of Russia
144 full text scans -- site is in Russian.
Icons and Images of Culture: Plate Books from the Russian Empire, Early Soviet Russia, and Eastern Europe
Digitized book plates from 1730-1935. From New York Public Library.
Images of Russia and Caucasus Region 1929-1933
800 images from the W. O. Field Collection of the University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.
Meeting of Frontiers
Bilingual, multimedia digital library of material related to the parallel explorations of the American west, Siberia and the Russian far east, and the meeting of the two cultures in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.
Not Yet Written Stories: Women Artists Archives On-Line
Information about contemporary Croatian, Latvian, Polish, and Slovenian women artists.
Polish Peace Posters
Printed for the World Peace Council between 1948 and 1978. SUNY at Buffalo Libraries Digital Collections.
Polish Writings on Art History
"This collection includes online digitized versions of several key Polish art history journals of the 20th and 21st centuries."
Posters of the Russian Civil War, 1918-1922
From the New York Public Library.
The Prokudin-Gorskii Photographic Record Recreated: The Empire That Was Russia
"The photographs of Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii (1863–1944) offer a vivid portrait of a lost world—the Russian Empire on the eve of World War I and the coming revolution." Exhibition from the Library of Congress.
Rhode Island School of Design Posters
Polish, Cuban, and Russian posters held in the RISD Library Graphic Design and Illustration Archive.
Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860-1945
From the New York Public Library.
Russian Avant-Garde on Monoskop
Information about people and works of the avant-garde period, along with links.
Russian Imperial Corps of Pages
Online exhibition from Columbia University Libraries.
Russian Military Topographic Map Collections
Mainly Soviet Red Army maps. From Indiana University Libraries.
Russian Placards, 1917-1922
Book comprising a collection of posters designed by V. Lebedev for the windows of the Russian Telegraph Agency (ROSTA), the state news agency of Soviet Russia. From Dartmouth Library Collection.
Russian Satirical Journals, 1905-1907
110 titles in 378 issues, primarily journals but also includes newspapers, broadsides, and illustrated periodicals. From University of Chicago.
Society of Historians of Eastern European, Eurasian and Russian Art and Architecture: Resources
Links to many different websites about Eastern European art and architecture.
Soviet Armenian Posters
"These posters translate and re-imagine the ideology and the agenda of the Soviet Union for Armenian society." From UCLA.
St Petersburg 1900
"A photographic travelogue of the capital of Imperial Russia."
Tango with Cows: Book Art of the Russian Avant-Garde, 1910-1917
Exhibition from the J. Paul Getty Museum.
University of Wisconsin-Madison Lawrence Monthey Photo Collection
In 1959, Lawrence G. "Larry" Monthey joined a tour of the Soviet Union and other European countries. "The images presented here document various destinations and educational events in Leningrad, Moscow, Kiev and Kharkov."
VADS: Russian Visual Arts Project
"The project brings together texts produced by writers, literary critics, art critics, journalists, and artists." Covers the years 1814-1909.
Views and Re-Views
Soviet era posters from an exhibition at the David Winton Bell Gallery at Brown University.
Yiddish Posters
Collection presents 78 posters of advertisements for performances and presentations that took place in the 1920s-30s in Eastern Europe, especially Latvia. From University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.

Unknown artist. The Mice Burying the Cat. Russian, print, ca. 1670-1729. Public Domain.