Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

The Alliance advocates on behalf of the field of artists' communities and creative environments and provides professional development opportunities and links to funding partnerships. Search for an artist's residency here.

National service organization representing the needs of American museums

"A nonprofit federation of 78 scholarly organizations...CLS strives to promote the circulation of humanistic knowledge throughout society."

National non-profit organization that champions craft based in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

"The American Institute for Conservation (AIC) is the leading membership association for current and aspiring conservators and allied professionals who preserve cultural heritage."

"Work together to promote the preservation and protection of cultural heritage."

The main organization for professional architects in the United States.

"A consortium of non-profit printmakers' councils in the United States and Canada."

"A membership organization that encourages the study of the history of printing and related arts and crafts, including calligraphy, typefounding, typography, papermaking, bookbinding, illustration, and publishing."

"Our mission is to build recognition and support for the extraordinary and dynamic value of the arts and to lead, serve, and advance the diverse networks of organizations and individuals who cultivate the arts in America."

"Founded in 1942 to promote study, research, discussion, and publication in aesthetics."

International nonprofit research organisation. Published a full open access journal.

"Nonprofit arts and cultural foundation with a social scope that is internationally established on three continents. Our mission emphasizes critical thinking, a commitment to reciprocity, and a sense of ethics at the core of all artistic practices."

"The Art Libraries Society of North America was founded in 1972 ... by a group of art librarians attending the American Library Association conference.

"The organization exists to facilitate communication among scholars, teachers, students, artists, museum specialists, collectors, and all others interested in the arts of Africa and the African Diaspora."

"Nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring greater representation, equity, and opportunities for Asian American artists and cultural organizations."

"A consortium of over 160 North American colleges, strives to strengthen the role of Asian Studies within the framework of liberal arts education to help prepare succeeding generations of undergraduates for a world in which Asian societies play prominent roles in an ever more interdependent world."

"Through advocacy, events, networks, membership, grants and publications, we celebrate and promote the value of art history and visual culture today." UK organization.

"A membership-based organisation for image professionals in the cultural heritage sector. AHFAP aims to provide a forum for photographers, image-makers, conservators and image archivists to share experiences and benefit from mutual co-operation."

"A non-profit organization dedicated to the study of the art of Latin America. Established in 1979, and officially recognized as an affiliated society of the College Art Association in 1997, it aims to encourage the highest standards of scholarship, criticism, and teaching in the art and architectural history of Latin America."

"A research Civil Society Organization that works to promote the study and research of art crime and cultural heritage protection."

"The leading educational and professional organization for academic museums, galleries, and collections."

"A non-profit member organization established to support African and African American focused museums nationally and internationally, as well as the professionals who protect, preserve and interpret African and African American art, history and culture."

Organization founded in 1979.

An affiliated society of the College Art Association. Advances and sets standards for the profession.

"The mission of the Association of Art Museum Curators is to support and promote the work of museum curators by creating opportunities for networking, collaboration, professional development, and advancement."

"A membership organization and an affiliated society of CAA—Advancing Art & Design. Founded in 1979, AHAA fulfills its mission of promoting scholarship on art of the United States from the European encounter with Native peoples to contemporary practice."

"Goal is to foster dialogue and communication among those who have a special interest in the field of nineteenth-century art and culture. Nineteenth-century art is broadly defined as all art that was produced between the American Revolution and the First World War, regardless of geographic boundaries."

Organization for professional illustrators, located in London.

"Consortium of 28 museums and research centers based in North America. ARIAH’s goal is to promote scholarship in art history and related disciplines, and to foster exchange among scholars, curators, and art historians from different parts of the world."

"The UK’s leading national organisation for promoting the study of Romanticism and the history and culture of the period from which it emerged."

"Founded in 1993 as an affiliated society of the College Art Association to serve the interests of scholars and those engaged in the catalogue raisonné process."

"The principal organization in the United States for professionals in the visual arts, from students to art historians to emeritus faculty." Founded in 1911.

Task force report written in 2016.

"The Society was formed in 1988 as a group "dedicated to the history, science, and art of the daguerreotype," but has expanded its mission to include all forms of early photography and its processes."

"The leading organisation that promotes and supports the study of design histories, both in the UK and internationally."

"A venue for educators and practitioners of Communication Design to discuss design research and practice. "

Purpose is to "foster and support the practice and publication of art historical scholarship incorporating and benefitting from digital strategies and technologies."

"Seeks to enrich public discourse by promoting innovative scholarship, cultivating new leaders, and fostering international understanding."

"An affiliate society of the College Art Association (CAA) in North America, HBA promotes scholarship and other professional endeavors related to British art and architecture, broadly conceived in terms of place and time."

Up to date newsletter of the organization.

"An affiliated society of the College Art Association. It was founded in 1997 to foster study of visual and material culture of Central Europe."

A consortium of colleges and universities (of which Brown is a member) devoted to strengthening the public role and democratic purposes of the humanities, arts, and design.

"Mission is to provide scholars in the humanities with the time, the tools, and the techniques to document and interpret the human record in electronic form."

"The purpose of our association is to support the understanding and study of art markets of all periods and geographic areas."

"Purpose...is to promote education and research in art history and related disciplines, to intensify cooperation between the institutes by facilitating the flow of information on scientific and administrative activities as well as the exchange of research findings, and to encourage the institutes to undertake joint projects."

"Seeks to foster the study of Word and Image relations in a general cultural context and especially in the arts in the broadest sense."

"Promotes awareness of the need for preservation, restoration, and documentation of the catacombs of Rome (with a special focus on the Jewish catacombs). Members may access additional resources including an online image archives and bibliographical database."

"Not-for-profit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts. IFAR offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal, and ethical issues concerning art objects."

"Promotes excellence in sculpture that is inspired by the natural world."

Resources for collectors and creators of 3D photographs.

"International non-profit association formed to promote the development and understanding of new media art."

"Empowers the creative community by providing critical support, resources, and opportunities."

Contemporary art foundation's digitized publications. Over 40 exhibitions catalogs available, though you must register in order to read them.

"Non-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of women photographers."

Association dedicated to providing access to artist's residencies worldwide.

"National non-profit organization devoted to education and research in the visual arts."

"The Society was founded in 1879 to advance the study of Greek language, literature, history, art and archaeology in the Ancient, Byzantine and Modern periods."

"North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of archives and archivists."

"The Society of Architectural Historians promotes the study, interpretation, and conservation of architecture, design, landscapes, and urbanism worldwide for the benefit of all."

"The mission of the Society of Arts + Crafts is to support and celebrate craft makers and their creativity. The organization’s vision is to build and sustain a vibrant and diverse community and to shape the future of craft."

"Brings together scholars specializing in the art and architecture of Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, from ancient times to the present day."

"The mission of the Institute is to act as the collective voice serving the interests of its members in pursuit of excellence and responsible design."

"Dedicated to fostering exploration, understanding, and enjoyment of the visual arts of the United States for national and international audiences."

"A multidisciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image management within the educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments."

"Celebrating the Western Imagination Through the Arts."

"The mission of the Women’s Caucus for Art is to create community through art, education, and social activism."

"We focus on women’s unique perspective in ecological and social justice art." Includes a directory of artists.

"Zeuxis was founded by Phyllis Floyd and several of her painter colleagues in her New York City loft in 1994."