Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

Open access journal: "The choice of the title indicates the intent of the editors to expand the boundaries of traditional art history by integrating all methodologies and subject matter related to images and visual phenomena around the globe."

"Journal Abbreviation Sources is a registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations or other types of abbreviated publication titles (e.g., conference proceedings titles)."

Peer reviewed journal offers some open access content on its website.

Online journal about contemporary architecture.

Fully open access journal of the international research organization Architecture, Media, Politics, Society.

Architectural drawings, plans, and photographs of buildings documenting the work of numerous Cleveland architects, such as Clarence Mack (1888-1982), Arthur Nelson Oviatt (1891-1951), Charles F. Schweinfurth (1856-1919), Frank R. Walker (1877-1949) and Harry E. Weeks (1871-1935), and many more. Also included is a digitized version of the prestigious journal Ohio Architect and Builder (1903-1919). Via JSTOR.

"Art History Pedagogy & Practice is a peer-reviewed open access e-journal devoted to scholarship of teaching and learning in art history."

Digitized copies of the bi-monthly art publication located in Milwaukee (1986-1997). From University of Wisconsin -- Milwaukee Libraries.

Online newspaper about the contemporary art world. You must register to access it and can sign up for various newsletters.

Online journal about today's art news in digest form. You can sign up for the free newsletter.

Full available online from the Internet Archive. Covers the years 1926-1991. Log in to free account and check out issue, which you can then browse from cover to cover.

Audio-cassette magazine established by Bill Furlong in 1972, from the Tate Archives.

Online index only to the artists' journal that was published in New York from 1970-1976.

On Monoskip, a wiki for collaborative studies of art, media, and the humanities. Includes links to other sites.

Fully searchable issues of important periodicals of the European avant-garde. From Princeton University Libraries.

Open access journal published by the Paul Mellon Center for Studies in British Art, London, and the Yale Center for British Art, New Haven.

Open access reviews of books and exhibitions from the College Art Association.

Magazine published by the Canadian Art Foundation. At least some of the articles are open access.

Full digitized Arts and Crafts periodical. From UC Berkeley Library.

Blog from "Arts Journal," written by journalist and lecturer.

Free-access, digitised art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet.

"Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."

Entire run of the Mexican architectural journal. Scroll down to page three of the pdf to access each issue.

East of Borneo essay by Gwen L. Allen.

"The Flue was a periodical published between 1980 and 1989 by the venerable institution Franklin Furnace Archive, which was founded in 1976 by the artist Martha Wilson to present, preserve, interpret, proselytize, and advocate on behalf of avant-garde art, especially forms that may be vulnerable due to institutional neglect, cultural bias, their ephemeral nature, or politically unpopular content."

Digitized issues of the concrete poetry magazine (1962-1968)

Fully digitized issues covering 1953 to 2001.

Freely accessible, ad supported web magazine dedicated to museum architecture and exhibition design.

Open access journal addressing topics related to studies, repairs, and maintenance of the built cultural heritage. No longer published but the archives are available at this site.

Open access journal, archives available at this site.

Open access, peer reviewed journal dedicated to the study and history of art historical writing.

Open access, refereed scholarly journal.

Plates from the satirical French weekly. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.

Plates from the satirical French weekly. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.

Magazine published in Shanghai from 1931-1937. From Columbia University Libraries.

Full text articles available online at Archnet.

"A scholarly, refereed, open-access journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century art and visual culture across the globe."

A guide to digitized 19th century periodicals available to the public, maintained by Marist College Library.

Journal on the future of architecture, landscape, and urbanism.

Formerly monthly publication of the Preservation Press of the National Trust for Historic Preservation of the United States. Official journal of the organization between 1961 and 1995. Available from Cornell University.

French weekly magazine founded in Paris in 1863 and was published without interruption until 1970. Available through JSTOR.

Magazine Covers from the RISD Picture Collection, available through JSTOR.

110 titles in 378 issues, primarily journals but also includes newspapers, broadsides, and illustrated periodicals. From University of Chicago.

Searchable index to back issues of the magazine (full text of articles not available online).

Student journal published by architecture students in Cambridge, MA between 1941 and 1944. First issue published by students from Harvard, MIT and Smith College.

Free online journal of the Tate Gallery in London.

Award-winning blogzine, primarily about painting, based in New York City.

Open digital collection of major US 20th century architecture magazines. Browsable, searchable and downloadable.

"This collection provides a digitised record of Design Journal for the years 1965 to 1974."