Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

The complete list of "degenerate art" exhibited by the Nazis in 1937. Digitized by the Victoria & Albert Museum.

A collection of woodcuts, engravings, and etchings from Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections.

"Small Edition Magazines with Original Graphics and Texts from 1980-1989."

Digitized maps of the world from Germany.

Searchable digitized auction catalogs.

"This collection contains digital images of one of 6 documented manuscript copies of the work by Leonhardt Baldner...a collection of watercolor drawings." Note: Click on each record to see all the images.

"Covering the years 1973-1989, this bibliography includes publications concerning the Visual Arts from the GDR, as well as publications from abroad concerning the Visual Arts in the GDR."

Covers exhibitions from 1937 to 1944.

Includes over 37 million objects with over 12 million digitized media. Rights vary but some are freely available.

Searchable digitized exhibition catalogs from the Prussian Academy of Arts.

Offers access to "art and exhibition activities from 1945 onwards in the Soviet Occupation Zone (SBZ) and from 1949 onwards in the newly founded GDR digitally available by means of the traditional media - primarily exhibition catalogues and leaflets."

"These digitized reproductions of the exhibition catalogues from 1869 to 1931 document the annual exhibitions in Munich and the international art shows taking place at the ‘Glaspalast’ in Munich."

Records of the Munich art dealer Galerie Heinemann with focus on the period from 1890 to 1939.

Digitized magazines in commercial and advertising art. Includes "Gebrauchsgrafik" "Das Plakat," "Typographische Mitteilungen," and monographs on the topic.

Biographical and bibliographical information.

Topographic 1:25,000 scale maps of pre-WWII Germany.

Chiefly from the Nazi party during WWII. From UC Berkeley Library.

Full text of 1840 available on the Internet Archive.

Research platform for images of the Great German Art Exhibitions of the Nazi era.

An inventory of German language manuscripts of the Middle Ages, 750-1520.

Digitized magazines and journals of the Weimar Republic.

Lithographs of Australian landscapes by Austrian artist von Guérard. From University of Divinity via JSTOR.

Full scans of the German art magazine from 1896-1940, Good source for German Art Nouveau.

Anatomical book by Johann Remmelin, published in 1661. Features movable flaps that can be raised to show various anatomical features. From the Internet Archive.

"Published by the Saxon Academy of the Arts and the SLUB Dresden, this exhibition catalogue presents 18 contemporary artists and their creative process."

Images from the Führerprojekt, an official Nazi archive of wall and ceilings frescoes. From the National Gallery of Art.

Klee's digitized notebooks from the Zentrum Paul Klee.

Specimen book issued in 1913 by Propaganda Stuttgart to showcase the firm’s posters. From Minneapolis College of Art and Design via JSTOR.

Downloadable exhibition catalog: "Drawing Between Art and Science."

Full scans of the German satirical magazine from 1896-1944 with biographical information on contributors.

"Exhibition catalogues of the artists‘ colony and the Darmstadt municipal museum as well as publications by individual members of the artists‘ colony."

Group of manuscripts known to be have been held in the St. Gall Library and in the Reichenau Monastery in the 9th century. From UCLA.

German picture postcards, dating from 1914 through 1945.

Early 20th century postcards by modernist illustrators. From Minneapolis College of Art and Design via JSTOR.

Plates from Klinger, Julius. Das Weib im modernen Ornament [Woman in Modern Ornament]: ein Vorlagenwerk fur alle Gebriete des Kunstgewerbes Teil I. Berlin: Albert Brinitzer, Verlag fur Freie und Angewandte Kunst, [1902]. From Minneapolis College of Art and Design via JSTOR.

Contains 39,000 digitized records of frescoes and murals in eastern Europe as compiled by the Nazi regime during World War II.