Cdates back to the 19th and 20th centuries and come from mainly northern Nigeria (Kano in particular) but also includes items from Ghana, Senegal and Mali. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
" The collection includes manuscripts of ecclesiastical character such as gospels, psalters, menologia, and ritual books, as well as theological and philosophical works, medical treatises, and anthologies of poetry." From UCLA.
Cache of pages from Ben Ezra Synagogue in Cairo. The collection has been split up but the second largest set belongs to the Jewish Theological Seminary of America, digitized here.
"The Edgar J. Goodspeed Manuscript Collection comprises 68 early Greek, Syriac, Ethiopic, Armenian, Arabic, and Latin manuscripts ranging in date from the 5th to the 19th centuries." University of Chicago Library.
Collection of fifteen leaves from medieval illuminated manuscripts in Special Collections at the Central Washington University Library. Available via JSTOR.
"This digital collection comprises c.150 Arabic manuscripts produced in Yemen and belonging to the Zaydi tradition, a branch of Shi’ism. Most manuscripts date from the 17th to the mid-20th century."
"Includes most of the kinds of books used between 1000 and 1500 A.D.: prayer books and poetry, Bibles and political propaganda, philosophical works, and fantastic histories."
This digital project presents images from the Tulane Latin American Library’s holdings of original and rare copies of Mexican manuscripts painted in the native pictorial tradition.
"The collection primarily consists of works related to the studies of theologians and scholars at centers of learning in Iran during the 17th and 18th centuries." From UCLA.
14th century French Manuscripts of "Le Roman de la Rose" and "Le Jeu des Echecs Moralisé," formerly bound together and now reunited by the University of Chicago.
This collection includes images of Renaissance manuscripts belonging to Watkinson Library, the special collections library at Trinity College, Hartford. Available via JSTOR.
Provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
