Resources in Art and Architecture on the Web

"The Art and Architecture web site is designed to be explored. There are more than 40,000 images here, and a network of over half a million links."

The Artcyclopedia is a publicly available index of online museums and image archives: find where the works of over 9000 different fine artists can be viewed online.

"Art Detective aims to improve knowledge of the UK's public art collection. It is an award-winning, free-to-use online forum for specialists and others interested in resolving questions about the artworks that UK public collections hold."

"A world leading resource for art pricing, international art auction records, artist signatures, alert notifications and much more."

Wide ranging collection of world art.

This resource links out to databases promoting diverse practitioners in their fields. Includes databases such as Cartoonists of Color, Female Experts on Japan & the Koreas, Queer & Trans Therapists of Color Network, and much more.

"The private book collection of the Italian art collector, patron and art historiographer Leopoldo Cicognara (1767-1834)."

"Open-access publication containing a database of digital art history projects and information on data sources" and more.

Online exhibitions, primary source sets for teaching, and other resources from collections across the U.S.

Digitized European titles.

Interface available in English and 26 other European languages.
Cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives; includes material from research libraries throughout the European Union.

Among the Free Library's art collection are prints by Rembrandt van Rijn, Abrecht Dürer, Michel Wohlgemut and other Old Masters, as well as fourteen original paintings by N.C. Wyeth. Includes W.P.A. artworks.

"Features content from over 1200 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's treasures online." Rights will vary by source.

Digitized European journals of art and satire.

Public domain images available for free downloads. Good for plans and architectural drawings of older buildings.

"Contains two databases: one for published catalogues raisonnés and one for those still in preparation. The latter includes information about anticipated publication dates, project scope and contact information." From the International Foundation for Art Research.

Resources for art collectors. Maintained by the International Foundation for Art Research.

International Foundation for Art Research "has developed the attached Provenance Guide as a primer on conducting such research. Significantly, it includes links to important archives, image databases, dealer and sales records, and other references, and it is made available to all free-of-charge."

"timely studies of topical issues related to the disciplines of art history and art conservation as well as the arena of art museums."

Shared online catalog of the material collections of the Harvard University Graduate School of Design, Parsons School of Design, and the Rhode Island School of Design. Includes descriptions and images. Publicly available.

Digitized European journals of the caricature and the satiric press.

Collections of ephemera for artists and art around the world, but primarily from North America and Africa. Indexed here but not fully accessible.

"The Art World at Your Fingertips: An Index of Authoritative and Scholarly Websites." New Zealand Site.