"With one of the most valuable growing collections of material on the recent history of art from Asia, freely available from our website and onsite library, AAA builds tools and communities to collectively expand knowledge through research, residency, and educational programmes."
"A consortium of over 160 North American colleges, strives to strengthen the role of Asian Studies within the framework of liberal arts education to help prepare succeeding generations of undergraduates for a world in which Asian societies play prominent roles in an ever more interdependent world."
A collection of images of Pacific and Asian locations from Burns Philp and Company, a major shipping line that acted as merchants and agents in the Pacific Islands. From Australian National University via JSTOR.
"Features photographs, videos, audio clips, and 3D models of dispersed objects that came from China’s Buddhist cave complexes, temples, funerary tombs, and their original environments." From University of Chicago.
"The collection serves as a multi-disciplinary resource with relevance to students and faculty working in the fields of art and archaeology, religious studies, history, East Asian languages and literatures, Central Asian and Islamic studies."
"This website is designed to give basic guidance to North American Japanese studies scholars who seek permissions for the use of Japanese images particularly in scholarly publications." From the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources.
Dr. Iraphne Childs’ Geographical Image Collection is the result of photographs taken primarily in the 1970s – 1990s in Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Hawaii and the Western USA. Available through JSTOR.
"Fifteen titles of Edo-period (1600-1868) Japanese woodblock-printed books are included in this online collection. The books are predominantly pictorial, with illustrations designed by artists such as Nishikawa Sukenobu, Katsushika Hokusai, Kono Bairei and Ando Hiroshige."
This collection of original photographs and drawings is drawn from ethnographic research on architecture and traditional domestic life in Sri Lanka, conducted in various periods between 1965 and 2012, by Bonnie and Robert MacDougall. From Cornell Library.
This collection of photographs originates from ethnographic fieldwork conducted by Cornell Anthropology Professors Kathryn March and David Holmberg on the Tamang of central highland Nepal. From Cornell Library.
Items relating to the field work of the pioneering female anthropologist and archaeologist. From Southern Methodist University Libraries Digital Collections. Materials come from research trips in the United States to study the Coast Miwok and Southern Paiute tribes, and trips to Mexico, Bolivia, Puerto Rico, El Salvador, and Pakistan.
"Olakh is a feminist organization based in Vadodara, Gujarat, India. This archive includes not only political pamphlets and books but also a one of a kind collection of political songs, tapes of street plays, political posters, artwork, and poetry collected by Olakh from feminist groups around the nation."
"Around 1890 the KITLV started collecting photographs for the purpose of documenting the image of the Dutch East and West Indies in all their facets, such as landscapes, town views, architecture, and life under indigenous and Dutch rule and so forth."
" 732 images taken by Frederic (Fritz) Benson during his time in Laos between August 1968 and January 1974...The images of the people of Laos...include views of the Lao, Hmong, Khmu, Akha, Iu Mien (Yao), Kalom, Tai Phuan, Mlabri, and Lahu."
Includes "categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries."