Resource for maps and site specific research materials promotes cartography, historical geography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies through innovative and collaborative research, teaching, and community outreach activities.
Comprises ca. 1500 gold, silver and bronze coins from ancient Greece and Rome, and ca. 300 coins from the Byzantine empire, with some additions from Lydia, Persia, the Sassanid Empire, China and modern Europe. From Cornell Library.
"Ajoint project of the Historic Cities Center of the Department of Geography, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Jewish National and University Library." Contains maps, literature, documents, books and more.
This online catalog presents a selection from the more than 7,500 archaeological objects in the collection created by the ancient cultures of Greece, Rome, Egypt, the Near East, and the Americas. Available through JSTOR.
"Pleiades gives scholars, students, and enthusiasts worldwide the ability to use, create, and share historical geographic information about the ancient world in digital form. At present, Pleiades has extensive coverage for the Greek and Roman world, and is expanding into Ancient Near Eastern, Byzantine, Celtic, and Early Medieval geography."
ETANA is a multi-institutional collaborative project initiated in August 2000, as an electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East. Has 3 databases for searching texts and translations.
"The immediate goal of the Wisconsin Palmyrene Aramaic Inscription Project (WPAIP) is to re-collate the corpus of Palmyrene Aramaic inscriptions as we are able, providing detailed photographic records and new editions of each epigraph."
"One of the main aims of the ETCSL project has been to meet the need for a coherently and systematically published, universally available textual corpus. More than 350 poetic compositions, equipped with translations and bibliographies, have been published. As our work on each composition is finished it is published on the website."
An international collaboration based at Harvard University, aims to assemble and provide access to all archeological records about the most famous site in the world: the Pyramids, surrounding cemeteries and settlements of Giza, Egypt.
Trismegistos is a platform aiming to surmount barriers of language and discipline in the study of texts from the ancient world, particularly late period Egypt and the Nile valley (roughly BC 800 - 800 AD).
Makes available free of charge images and digital objects to which the Academy holds the rights to scholars, educators, and the general public. Images may be downloaded and freely used for personal, educational and scholarly, non-commercial purposes. High resolution images are made selectively available on request.
Dr. Ann-Marie Koblauch's research slides of the Ancient Greek work. The collection comprises sites that are not frequently published. From Virginia Tech, available through JSTOR. Permission required to publish.
The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the reception of antiquity, a focus of Renaissance studies. Registered are the antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents.
High quality digital images of the plates (180) from Furtwangler, Adolf und Reichhold, Karl, Griechische Vasenmalerei, Serie I-III (1904-1932), from the collection of the Williams College Archives, presented for open access. Via JSTOR.
"Promotes awareness of the need for preservation, restoration, and documentation of the catacombs of Rome (with a special focus on the Jewish catacombs). Members may access additional resources including an online image archives and bibliographical database."
Archeological study collection consisting of approximately 135 objects from Ancient Greece and Italy, including vases, bronzes, terracottas, marbles, glass ware, household utensils, polished pieces of stone and inscriptions. Available via JSTOR.
3-D digital recreation of the remnants of the 200-year-old Fort Moultrie in Charleston Harbor, South Carolina. Includes pages on history, architecture, and weaponry of the fort, a glossary, videos, and digitized photos and prints.