"A data base of books on architecture manuscripts and prints published in France, written in French or translated into French during the 16th and 17th centuries."
Important primary source of information on building materials, supplies, decorative elements and industry trends during the 19th and early 20th centuries. From Columbia University Libraries.
Free online catalogues that "combine peer-reviewed introductory essays with carefully selected groups of object records generated from the Museum's Collection online database."
"A growing digital library of books–all original works commissioned by the Art Canada Institute–by the country’s leading art experts on artists who have made a critical contribution to the evolution of the nation’s art history."
The Harvard-Yenching Library’s Chinese Rare Book collection includes Chinese books from the 13th to 19th centuries covering classics & history, philosophy, collectaner, and unique manuscripts.
"designed to support authors, editors, publishers, and arts organizations in advancing the description of visual resources for accessibility in arts and humanities publications."
A free, privately funded biographical dictionary of historians of western art written and maintained by scholars for the benefit of the public. From Duke University.
High quality digital images of the plates (180) from Furtwangler, Adolf und Reichhold, Karl, Griechische Vasenmalerei, Serie I-III (1904-1932), from the collection of the Williams College Archives, presented for open access. Via JSTOR.
Provides information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art with references to original primary source material.
Consists of six databases of information on the history of collecting and the provenance of individual works of art, gathered from sales catalogues, archival records, and museum files. Supplies a wealth of data drawn from British, French, and Netherlandish art sales catalogues of the nineteenth century and documents supplied by major European archives. [This resource is publicly accessible.]
"The Getty Research Portal™ is a free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields."
"Contains two databases: one for published catalogues raisonnés and one for those still in preparation. The latter includes information about anticipated publication dates, project scope and contact information." From the International Foundation for Art Research.
This collection includes manuscripts, panels, isolated manuscripts folios, lithographs, incunabula, and contemporary publications, dating from the 9th to the 21st century. From McGill University via JSTOR.
Contains over 900 English-language chapbooks published in England, Scotland, Ireland and the northeastern United States in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Combined catalog of the Brooklyn Museum, Frick Collection, and Museum of Modern Art. Not comprehensive but search results can be limited to open access resources.
"An online edition of The Print Council Index to Oeuvre-Catalogues of Prints by European and American Artists by Timothy A. Riggs...The database now contains entries for European and American prints, print publishers, drawings, and photographs; and Japanese prints and photographs."
"Series of peer-reviewed critical volumes devoted to the field of Romanticism and its theoretical underpinnings. Closer in form to a scholarly book of essays than a critical journal, each volume in Romantic Circles Praxis Series (RCPS) explores a particular subject, figure, or theoretical approach, such as the gothic, contemporary culture, discourses of empire, and many others."
The South Asian Digital Collection features selected books, serials, and manuscripts related to the present-day countries of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
"The Antiquities of Wisconsin, Increase A. Lapham's most important published work, was the result of his interest in the Indian effigy mounds found on Wisconsin's Landscape...ncludes 92 pages of text, illustrated with 61 wood engravings, and 55 lithographed plates."
"The centerpiece of this collection is a reprint of Theatre to Cinema: Stage Pictorialism and the Early Feature Film, by Ben Brewster and Lea Jacobs first published by Oxford University Press in 1997...Clicking on the individual illustrations in the pdfs of the parts will allow you to download them as image files."
"This digital collection includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from the UW-Madison collections. These books from the first half of the 20th century (1907 – 1940's) include the history of clothing, styles of dress, fashion drawing, and design and construction of hats, clothing and costumes."
This link opens in a new window
